Beer Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I don't really like beer...so they left an aftertaste. However, my dad LOVED them (he likes beer and can't taste it). I was thinking about sending the mixture without the beer out as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Point Of Rocks, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
These are DELICIOUS! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I made these with my brother's girlfriend, and we did alter the recipe, using 1/2 all-purpose and 1/2 whole wheat flour; we also used a little less beer and added craisins to the mix and pecans to the top of each cookie. They were awesome, although more the consistency of muffins. My brother's girlfriend remembered the alterations and made beer muffins later and reported that they turned out better than the cookies. A suggestion for the beer to use: we used a Sam Adam's seasonal cranberry lambic ale. I'd also suggest a cherry wheat or other types of wheat beers to give these cookie-muffins a more hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This recipe was awesome! I only made one change-- and that was to shorten the baking time, from 12-15 minutes to 8-10. I live at high altitude, though, and my oven is literally older than I am. These cookies came out soft, tasty, and delicious! Pecans work very well as a substitute nut for those who don't like walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
These cookies make me so hoppy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This was an awesome recipe! My great grandma used to make cake batter cookies when I was little and these totally remind me of them! Great taste, and everyone I have made them for has loved them! I am looking forward to experimenting with different beers and seasonings! Thank you Tina for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hops
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I read all the reviews and am now baking. I used: 1 cup bread flour 1 cup whole wheat flour 1/2 tsp baking soda 1/2 cup brown sugar 1 TBS of regular sugar 1 TBS cinnamon 3/4 Cup of butter (more than the recipe) 1/2 an egg 1 1/4 cup of Sierra Nevada Brown Ale some dried cranberries some chocolate chips I mixed it up and then added a a bit more four to get to Toll House cookie texture. I then made Table Spoon size domes on a cookie sheet and started baking at 350ºF at sea level. I am now waiting...... ..........at 10 minutes I took them out they grew a bit but did not spread and flatten out. After testing the first batch I cooked the next batch for about the same time 11 minutes. I think they turned out okay. A puffy, good, beer cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hops

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
A good starter recipe for sure, but needed a couple adjustments. Beer choice is probably the most important factor people are having trouble with- this works great with a dark heavy ale, but wont work that well with your average pilsner. When I was making this, I added an extra half cup of flour and a cup of oats to help with the texture. Also, I substitued white chocolate chips for the walnuts, since I didnt have any on hand. It ended up being a very savory, fluffy cookie. I will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chloeliz
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
These cookies are fantastic!! I made them with Sam Adams Winter Lager. I added just under 1 and 1/4 cups, just until the dough was moist. I also added some nutmeg, oats, and chocolate chips. The are fluffy, kind of like muffin tops. So good! I will definitely be making these again. Next time I'm going to try Guinness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloeliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Based on the reviews for these, I didn't have very high hopes for these, but I was curious. I used 1 cup of Newcastle, and I added some raisins and a bit of oats to bulk them up a little. I also added an extra 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, and a little vanilla, but I guess it wasn't enough to make a difference. These were really easy to make, and I like that they didn't have eggs, white sugar, or an outrageous amount of butter. They are sooooo good hot out of the oven!! I love the texture, its very soft and kind of spongy! I can tell the flavor will be a little bland when they cool, though. Next time I will add some chocolate chips (I think white choc would be great in these) or more raisins, and maybe some chopped walnuts or macadamias. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States