Beer Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2000
This cookie did not taste good. It is not a drop cookie, it is pancake batter. It is a waste of beer. My dog didn't like them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2000
I really didn't care for them....did not offer them to the family....maybe I did something wrong????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2000
I thought these cookies would be great for a company of men that love beer. I brought them in after tasting them as a joke, and I don't think anyone got the joke. Now of course they all think that I can't cook. I will show them of course, but just for the record these are terriable!!! Very bland, strange texture...etc. Of course my drunk roommate thought they were great, so maybe that is the trick I just don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
These cookies were very good. Make sure to use relatively cold butter - warm butter makes these cookies flat. I'm confused by the other reviews - my friends love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
These are DELICIOUS! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Cookies were soft and chewy, but thought they were missing something. Maybe the addition of raisins or diced apples would perk up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
The amount of flour in this recipe needs to be adjusted to 3 1/2 cups, at the very least (I would recommend 4 cups flour). The recipe, as is, does not yeild a usable dough at all... more like a thin, watery batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Bland. If you spread icing or Nutella on top of the cookies, they are quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Well, I made a slight change in this recipe: I used root beer in place of beer, and only used one cup. And it turned out pretty good. The dough was more like a batter, but the cookies still turned out ok. They were just soft cookies as opposed to the hard ones that people might have expected. My family liked them anyway. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Fun to experiment with. I agree with the reviews that the all purpose flour makes the dough too thin. By happy accident, I'd substituted 1/2 cup of wheat flour, since I'd run out of all purpose -- what a difference. I used a microbrew and folded in dried cranberries for more flavor (per another suggestion posted). This is a savory cookie if the recipe is followed, not sweet. However, I've done a variation where I used the "sweeter" Guinness stout and folded in chocolate chips. I think using the basic recipe, with 1 1/2 cups all purpose and 1/2 cup wheat flour, along with a beer and a folded confection or dried fruit could make this fun (pick a beer, like Cherry wheat and fold in dried cherries, maybe, etc). Also, for beer drinkers, this cookie is not too sweet (depending on what you add) and is a change from chips, pretzels, etc. Doesn't look, like the basic all purpose flour, walnuts (and I'm guessing people pickd the macrobrew pilsner lagers as the beer) is all that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States