Beer Chops I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I used a half bottle of Yuengling. My son said to rate it a 6 out of 5. My husband and I weren't as impressed but thought it was okay. If I make it again, I will definitely add seasonings but wanted to follow the recipe the first time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is a 5-star if you follow some of the commenters suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jruiz26
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I followed the recipe and took the advise in the other reviews and added cream of mushroom soup. I also Seasoned the pork chops with garlic powder And pepper. Cooked for 6 hours in the slow cooker, and when it was done It fell apart when you put a fork in it. I normally don't care for pork chops Because they dry out quickly, but these Were very tender and had a hint of beer Flavor unlike some of the reviewers. Would Definitely make again but my brown them In butter first next time for color :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Eh. These were alright but the flavor to me left something to be desired. Would possible try again with some of the suggestions from other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Tender but very dry... Not the best. I added red-peppers also. Cooked it on low 8hrs but the beer taste was quite strong..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I thought this recipe was just barely OK. I can see why so many people who liked it, had made lots of changes to the recipe. I made it exactly as written; the onion was a medium-size yellow one, the beer was Corona Light, and I cooked it on low for the full 8 hours. The pork was indeed very moist and tender. The beer flavor was somewhat strong, I thought, and I can see how the choice of beers can make a difference. The sauce could definitely use some thickening, and I think the whole thing could use more spices. I may make something like this again, but I'll definitely do a lot more than just this basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is the first time at this site. Used a suggestions from several different reviews and the chops were great! I don't cook that often, yet they were exceptional and my guests loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Yummy. I, too, added a can of cream of mushroom soup, pepper and a couple of splashes of balsamic vinegar, which helped the taste and created an excellent color. I doubled the onions to two, using one red and one yellow. (Never too many onions in this household.) My husband and I are NOT beer drinkers and we both loved this recipe. Oh, the wonderful aromas as it was cooking, too. I thickened the sauce on the stove for serving over rice. I loved the challenge of tweeking this recipe. For shame it got such a bad rap. Even though I am an experienced cook, I love the ease and simplicity of this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Absolutely fabulous! Very flavorful and tender. A new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States