Beer Cheese Soup VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
As written this recipe is 2 stars. I had to do a lot of doctoring to make it good including adding garlic, adding Velveeta, doubling the amount of cheddar cheese, and using corn starch to thicken the soup up. It’s an okay recipe but I will try another one next time with better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
LOVE this soup! It is always a hit every time I make it. I love that it is so easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Pretty good! I'd suggest using 2 cans of broth and a whole beer and then adjusting thickness with the remaining broth if you want more beer flavor and a thicker soup. This recipe can be made gluten free if you have gluten free broth, beer, and flour. When I made it GF, I had to add cornstarch, too, because the GF flour didn't quite do the job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I doubled the veggies. used veggie broth, jalapeno cheese. I blended the veggies before adding the cheese. The cheese looked weird-sort of curdled looking, or maybe it was the flour mixed in with the cheese, so I blended it a second time. good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This might have been good with a different beer, I don't know, but everyone said to use a dark beer and the only dark beer I had was an imperial stout. Do NOT make that mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Great base! I made this recipe when we were snowed in so I had to substitute a few ingredients and added chopped chicken breast, sliced fresh/soaked jalapenos, and a cup of cooked rice! Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLocke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, Texas, USA
Living In: Stamford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I've made this several times and it always comes out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Wonderful recipe! My husband and I both loved it. Can't wait to make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Nice light tasting soup! I wish it were a little thicker, but I couldn't NOT use a full can of beer - that'd just be . . wrong. Used just 1 Tbsp butter to saute all the veggies and it worked just fine. Also, pureeing the entire soup made a wonderfully consistent tasting/textured soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This was fantastic! I've been looking for a really good beer cheese soup for a long time. I only gave 4 stars because I made a couple changes. With my changes it's 5. I added a little kosher salt & black pepper while cooking the veggies, and about 1/2 tsp of garlic powder before adding the cheese. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States