Beer Cheese Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by natalieila
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I wanted to make this as much like the jack astors recipe as possible so I added a clove of garlic, 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, a pinch of ground thyme and some extra water to make it less thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was pretty good- different than other soups I've had before. It was good w/ bread and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I followed the recipe for everything except the cheese and I subbed the listed cheeses for a cheddar and jack four cheese prepackaged mix that I had on hand. I am minimally skilled in the kitchen (putting it nicely) and it turned out great! I did add some fresh green onions when serving and we had french bread to dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Delicious! The best, most authentic beer cheese soup I've ever made. I omitted the celery and replaced the dry mustard with a couple squirts of yellow mustard. I will be making this again. Also, it's great leftover IF you stir it while heating it through on the stove. This takes care of the clumping problem that people have referred to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Made this with some additional garlic and used homemade vegetable stock instead of canned chicken. Turned out AWESOME. Love this soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I thought that this was wonderful, but my husband did not like it at all. Don't think that it was the recipe. I think that he just doesn't care for beer cheese soup. Probably won't make it again, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This recipe would be good for fondue cheese, but with a little tweeking, adding more beer, chicken broth, adn butter milk, gets it to a soupy consistancy. I also added Real Bacon pieces into it with the onions, carrots, and broccoli. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Byesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is a super easy and super yummy recipe. The best part is the ingredients are things you always have on hand. I followed the other reviews and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, left out the veggies, and added 1/2 c milk. I liked it a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Delicious! Rich and creamy = exactly what I was looking for to fulfill my craving. Plus it couldn't have been any easier to make. My changes: I went with suggestions from others and ended up using 2 cans of broth, I only had mild cheddar so I used that instead of the varieties, didn't blend it, and used about half a bottle of hefe-weizen (if I used more it would've been TOO beer-y, but then I'm not much of a beer fan). Served it with Il Fornaio frozen rolls. Perfect soup for a cozy fall day, look forward to making it again. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
It did turn out as the recipe says, but I personally did not like the beer and cheese combo, nor did my husband. However, this makes a great cheesy vegetable soup without the beer! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States