Beer Cheese Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I guess I did not add enough cheese because all I could taste was the chicken soup. Maybe it will be different tomorrow, and the next day, as it ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This was pretty good. I added a little Kosher Salt & Black Pepper and a little milk. I am not a good cook and it was easy to make and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Really loved this soup! Great flavors and a nice twist to vegetable soup. My only complaint is that I would have liked it to be a bit thicker, like a traditional beer soup. However, I hate making a roux so I'll take it! I used a brown ale, which was perfect. In looking up the best type of beer for soup, light beer was not recommended because it is too watery and not enough flavor and an IPA would be too bitter. My only adjustment was to use vegetable broth and a combination of cream of onion soup and cream of celery soup to make it vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I kinda felt like something was missing though. Can't quite put my finger on what it is that is needed. Definitely worth making despite that! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Okay, so I must admit I'm a cheese fanatic.....this soup was fantastic! But I added a jar of Ragu triple cheese, and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Fantastic! I didn't have any celery and I used a block of Colby-Jack cheese. Also, to make it easy, I just threw in a frozen bag of cauliflower, broccoli and carrots. My husband couldn't stop salivating while it cooked and then ate it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
too thin. good flavor, just not what I was thinking when I read "Beer Cheese."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I love beer cheese soup and order it any chance I get. If you are looking for a recipe that is easy to make and tasty, this is the one. I leave out the celery because I feel like it gets soggy if you are going to eat it the next day. The same comment can go for the cauliflower and broccoli. The recipe is also flexible. Sometimes I add more beer, sometimes less. Sometimes I do all potatoes and carrots, sometimes I mix in the other vegetables. Super easy recipe to work with!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Very good soup. I omitted the potatoes since we didn't have any on hand. I also used a dark ale and sauted the carrots, onions, and celery and some garlic before adding them to the soup base. This is a definite soup to make again. Topped it off and served with green onions and croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I used Pearl Street Brewery Brown Ale (Wisconsin) and Shullsburg Sharp Cheddar (Wisconsin), but otherwise followed the recipe as written. It was delicious and I will surely make it again. Not sure yet how it rates as a leftover though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States