Beer Cheese Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
For those who attended Ohio University and know what "real" beer cheese soup from the Pub is like... I tell you this recipe is pretty close to the famous Wednesday special. It was quick and easy to make. Somebody tell Mike, the secret recipe is out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I highly recommend forgoing the velveeta yuk :) I used 1 can of cream of chicken & one can of cream of broccoli. Instead of fake cheese, I used 8oz of cabot sharp cheddar & 8oz cabot montery jack. I used dogfish head 90 minute IPA so there was a little bite, but it was mellowed out by the montery jack, I also used fresh cauliflower - delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This was great! I used low fat cream of chicken soup, low fat processed cheese, and light beer. My boyfriend never had a clue. It was still rich and creamy, but with less fat. I also left out the boullions to cut down on the salt and added garlic and basil to spice it up. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
After reading the reviews I can see where this soup can turn out a bunch of different ways with different tastes. I use 4 cups of chicken broth instead of boullion and water. I also omit the califlower, brocoli, and carrots. The onion and potato are perfect for this type of soup plus the leftovers don't get soggy. I recommend using a beer that doesn't have a bitter aftertaste. The darker the better for true beer cheese soup flavor. This recipe freezes well. I highly recommend this to anyone who loves a good beer cheese soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Being from Wisconsin, this is my husband's and my kind of soup! We absolutely love it. I do not use bouillon cubes though because they are too salty. Instead, I use either chicken broth from a can or "Better Than Bouillon" paste from a jar. I also substitute a bag of California Blend (broccoli, cauliflour, carrots) frozen veggies instead of just broccoli. Thank you for sharing Naomi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Oh my heavens ..This was perfection! My husband said this was one of the most fabulous dinners he had ever had - I served it up with a great Bruchetta recipe from here! I did not change a thing except I made it in a crockpot and simmered it for hours. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I have found after making this soup twice that I would leave out the broccoli. The two times I made the soup it was wonderful - but the broccoli stole the show. I made it for clients and they thought it was cheese & broccoli soup. Next time - more potato,carrot and cauliflower, less water and 18oz of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jarod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I'm not really sure what kind of soup this is. It's not broccoli cheese or beer cheese but the two of them put together. I too am from Wisconsin and am used to a much thicker version of this soup minus the broccoli. The recipe is good, but it's not a traditional beer cheese soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Think next time I will leave out the beer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Stivers Boyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jerseyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
very, very good. Rich, but not too much so. I did not add the broccoli/cauliflower mix. It didn't need it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States