Beer Cheese Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Very good! Could have used a bit more "cheesy flavor" but still great nonetheless! I used a dark/red beer, and it gave it a great beer flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Beck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
wonderful, except substituted two cups chicken broth for two cups water and eliminated the bouillon...worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannaford, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is TERRIBLE. Even my husband who is not picky at all will not eat it again. Too thin, incredibly bland and not enough of a cheesy taste. In no way can this be considered Beer Cheese Soup...removing it from my recipe box and moving on to try another recipe. Blgh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Whenever I have made beer cheese in the past, it always got gritty from the milk curdling. This was very good and was able to be heated high enough to melt the cheese but not curdle. I did not use the broccoli/cauliflower due to being allergic. I also did not add any water but used beer and chicken stock. I used sharp processed cheese (8 oz), montrey jack (8 oz) and can of Campbells chedder cheese soup. I used Heiniken beer and for more "bite" added dry mustard, red and white pepper, Tabosco sauce and Worchshire sauce. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This turned out great! It was very smooth and creamy. We really enjoyed all the veggies in it. I did sautee the raw veggies in olive oil and garlic prior to putting into the soup to soften them a bit. The only addition I made was to add a little pepper at the end to give it a bite. Great with crusty bread to dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This soup was very good and I will make it again. I too like some other reviewers used chicken broth instead of bullion cubes.... It was tasty but must stir constantly after adding cheese and cream of chicken so it doesn't burn to the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Truman, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Meidinger

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashley, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Absolutely wonderful! I make soups all of the time and this is going to be a keeper. I added two frozen bags of veggies: One of brocolli and one of cauliflower. I will probably just do the cauliflower the next time. The brocolli really breaks down while it sits and it looks more like brocolli soup than anything else. I also added two bottles of Newcastle beer and I added more potatoes. Very hearty dish! It's even better on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I have found after making this soup twice that I would leave out the broccoli. The two times I made the soup it was wonderful - but the broccoli stole the show. I made it for clients and they thought it was cheese & broccoli soup. Next time - more potato,carrot and cauliflower, less water and 18oz of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jarod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Whole family loved this soup. I made a few changes though. My kids don't like veg. so I left them out and used more potatoes. Next time I think I will cut back on the cheese a little, but over all it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States