Beer Cheese Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Simple to make and turned out better than I thought. I took the advice of other raters and used chicken broth instead of bouillon, fresh cauliflower & broccoli and 8 oz cheddar/8 oz jalapeno jack. I also used Schlafly's pumpkin ale for my beer and it gave the soup a nice fall flavor (not too pumpkin-y) and my house a nice pumpkin aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I first had this soup at a restaurant a number of years ago and fell in love. A few years ago my brother brought over some homemade beer cheese soup that tasted just like the restaurant! When I got around to asking him for the recipe he couldn't find it! :( Lucky for me I found this recipe. I just made it tonight and it was awesome. The only thing I did different was that I put all the vegetables in a food processor to chop them up. I still followed the recipe about when to add the vegetables though. There really is a surprising amount of vegetables in this soup! Use the food processor and the kids will never know! The original recipe makes way more than 6 servings though. I'd say it's at least 10 bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Not has thick as other cheese soups I've had, but could easily cut back on the water by a cup. (Overnight, it should thicken some too.) Wound up adding Fontinella cheese for a little sharpness. My grocer didn't have the brick Velveeta, so I used those packaged slices. I think some flavor might've been sacraficed there. The cream soup is a nice cheat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turnin40EatinBetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Loved this soup. I did change some of the ingredients though. instead of chicken boullion cubes I used low sodium chicken stock, left out the cream of chicken soup, using cream instead, and instead of processed cheese spread, I added shredded 5 cheese blend prior to turning off the heat. This soup disappeared fast! Absolutely Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
i liked this recipe but noone else in the family did-sigh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
We didn't like this at all. Maybe it's because I left out the broccoli and cauliflower, but this tasted like a mouth full of velveeta cheese. A pound of velveeta is a LOT. I could feel my arteries hardening just looking at it. Sorry folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This soup was tasty, but I wouldn't call it Beer Cheese soup, I would call it cheesy vegetable soup with a hint of beer,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I have made this over and over again. I do not use brocolli as it ends up being a brocolli/cheese soup. Use Gennessee beer and velveeta cheese. I have tried using other cheeses, but they tend to stick to the spoon when eating. And I serve with roast beef and min-weck rolls. Yum! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Amazing! I couldn't bring myself to use the processed cheese so I shredded some irish and american cheddar and it was perfect!!!! This recipe was exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Evans, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
We had a "beer" themed dinner with our club. This went over very well. We made it for 12, ok lots of soup for 12 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Electricweeb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States