Beer Cheese Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was a FANTASTIC recipe... everyone really enjoyed it! Thanks so much for sharing it with us. A couple modifications: -Only 1 can of condensed cream of chicken -Instead of using broccoli I doubled the cauliflower
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Made as directed. Once it was finished I couldn't taste the beer. I will certainly try this again but I will add the beer at the end, use chicken stock/broth instead of the cubes and less veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky River, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I liked most everything about this recipe except it does not really suggest a beer... I used Bristol Winter Warlock, an oatmeal stout, and by the end of the bowl the beer taste had become overwhelming and bitter. I would suggest using an Amber or lighter ale for this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
very, very good. Rich, but not too much so. I did not add the broccoli/cauliflower mix. It didn't need it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This is another favorite in my house & great for kids too! After making this for several years, I have made a few changes that I think make a perfect broccoli cheese soup. I cut out the onion, for personal taste preference. I also just use about 2 cups of fresh steamed broccoli (no cauliflower) and stir it in for about 5-10 minutes. For the cheese, I use 8oz velveeta and 8 oz sharp cheddar. Also, I have found that just about any beer will work, but I prefer to use the Coor's Non-Alcoholic. You can sub Apple Juice/Water, but it will change the taste dramatically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
really really good! I would use all broccoli next time as I'm not a huge fan of cauliflower but wouldn't change anything else. Used Bud Light as that's what we had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was very good. I made it as directed except when adding the broccoli and cauliflower I cooked it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juniebugs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Simple to make and turned out better than I thought. I took the advice of other raters and used chicken broth instead of bouillon, fresh cauliflower & broccoli and 8 oz cheddar/8 oz jalapeno jack. I also used Schlafly's pumpkin ale for my beer and it gave the soup a nice fall flavor (not too pumpkin-y) and my house a nice pumpkin aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I first had this soup at a restaurant a number of years ago and fell in love. A few years ago my brother brought over some homemade beer cheese soup that tasted just like the restaurant! When I got around to asking him for the recipe he couldn't find it! :( Lucky for me I found this recipe. I just made it tonight and it was awesome. The only thing I did different was that I put all the vegetables in a food processor to chop them up. I still followed the recipe about when to add the vegetables though. There really is a surprising amount of vegetables in this soup! Use the food processor and the kids will never know! The original recipe makes way more than 6 servings though. I'd say it's at least 10 bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Not has thick as other cheese soups I've had, but could easily cut back on the water by a cup. (Overnight, it should thicken some too.) Wound up adding Fontinella cheese for a little sharpness. My grocer didn't have the brick Velveeta, so I used those packaged slices. I think some flavor might've been sacraficed there. The cream soup is a nice cheat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turnin40EatinBetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States