Beer Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Very good soup, I used fat free half and half and reduced fat cheddar cheese to cut down on some of the fat and calories, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
my whole family LOVED this soup on a snowy day served with hot sandwiches!! I didn't change ANYTHING from the recipe. I used Michelob light beer in it. Will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Turnage Kibler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
In our case we O'dell Cut Throat Porter in the soup and get an incredible flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcias
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was a great starting point for beer cheese soup. I had made up some twice baked potatoes with butternut squash and had extra filling, so I threw it in the blender with some cottage cheese and milk and used it in place of the half-and-half - worked out great and was a great use of potato filling. Thanks for the delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Wonderful soup recipe! I did not have any problem with the soup thickening like most did. I also added a bit of Cayenne pepper to give it a little kick! my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
The key to this soup is patience! It needs to come to a boil after the corn starch is added, and it will thicken quickly. It is important to boil it slowly and stir constantly to avoid scorching. Another tip: I pureed the soup in a blender after cooling for a velvety smooth texture. I have tried it with milk instead of 1/2 & 1/2, and it is just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Added an extra half a cup of cheese as the soup was a little thin. Otherwise it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This soup is fantastic! I made a few changes: used 4 cups of sharp cheddar rather than 2, I cut my onions pretty chunky, they gave it great texture. Also, I mixed my cornstarch with chicken broth instead of water. And I let it simmer for atleast 5 extra minutes to get the thick consistency I wanted. We serve this up in sourdough bread bowls and it is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I do not like cheese soup so the 5 stars comes from my Wisconsin born husband who loves the stuff. I made it as directed, but I just mixed the cornstarch with a little of the the leftover chicken broth and brought it up to just before it boiled then took it down to a simmer, constantly whisking while heating. I also doubled the cheese & worcestershire and added a some parmesan, salt and a little pepper. Once everything was added I cooked it on low and stirred constantly for about 10-15 min. It thickened up perfectly. If you like beer cheese soup this is a great one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Very easy to make and ended up being just what I had expected. I didn't have time to serve garnished with bacon bits (I forgot to get some bacon at the store) so I tried with the bar tradition of popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States