Beer Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this recipe as written and it was pretty good... Not quite cheesey enough for my tastes so I added an extra cup of cheese. I used Goose Island 312 beer and (with the extra cheese) it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
LOVE this soup! Shallots are a nice touch in place of onions if you happen to have them on hand. Fresh chicken broth instead of canned. I also usually throw in a bit more cheese than it calls for. A nice dark ale adds a good flavor. As far as thickening, I add a touch of extra cornstarch than the recipe calls for and allow it to reach a boil after I add the mixture, before turning it down to low. This is definitely one of those "better the next day" soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannahlou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I followed this recipe to the "T". I even stopped and bought the special beer they required (we don't drink). Well, I hope the garbage disposal enjoyed it because we didn't. It was curdled and extreme bitter. I even cooked it longer in the step that called for evaporating the beer. Would definitely not recommend thhis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
was soo excited to make this soup, but very disappointed with the outcome. I had no problems with the consistancy but the flavor was terribly bland. I would definietly use a dark full-flavored beer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I think the corn starch issue others have mentioned may be due to old corn starch. Corn starch can go bad easily. I added freshly ground pepper, extra cheese, and homemade sour dough croutons on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very yummy and easy to make (especially for a novice cook such as myself). I used Foster's beer rather than a light version and that seemed to be really great for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I love beer cheese soup and have tried several recipes with success before, but this one was lacking in flavor and left a strange after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
very weird texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is a good, quick & easy soup! I added the cornstarch slurry after the chicken broth & let it boil (while stiring with a whisk) until it was almost as thick as gravy, then added the 1/2 & 1/2 and cheese. I used Redbridge Gluten-Free beer and also added some ground ginger, celery salt and parsley. Next time, I'm going to try it with red potatoes and bacon. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I made as suggested and it was great! Next time, I will add the cornstarch mixture before the 1/2 & 1/2 and bring to a boil. My guys especially liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States