Beer Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I used Guinness when making this soup and used extra sharp cheddar, as well as, reducing the amount of onion. This was a huge hit. I doubled the recipe because of the amount of people I had over and I had to fight for my own bowl, Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Kullman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This soup tasted just like the kind of soup that I used to get as a kid at a restaurant that my family went to before it closed down. It reminded me of good times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chezanimalhair
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was delicious and easy-peasy to make! It *is* a thinner soup but it's still very rich and creamy. The beer I used is Stella Artois. I did use an immersion blender to smooth it out (I didn't want the chunks of onion and garlic). I will make this again for sure. I threw some bacon bits and popcorn on mine, but it was delicious without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chezanimalhair

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Love this. It's so simple, but so delicious on a chilly fall night. I make this with beer bread as it's also incredibly easy to make. Goes great together. The only things I changed was that I mixed the cornstarch (flour works okay too from what I've tried) with the chicken broth. It seemed to thicken it just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious! I topped it with crushed croutons and crumbled bacon and it was really good. I did one thing different, however. After reading the comments about thickening, and since I'm a newby at this kind of thing, I added the cornstarch slurry and thickened it before I added the cheese and cream. It worked out fine and as I said, was just delicious! Thank you, Debbie Rowe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Very good- very easy. I followed the last review posted and added the cornstarch mixture to thicken, then the half&half and cheese last- and until melted- not boiling. It makes sense not to boil the half&half- much creamier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
My teenage daughter loves this soup. I serve it with crusty bread . . . makes a very satisfying lunch on chilly days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reddelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
It didn't thicken up very well and I followed the recipe to the letter. Not the best flavor either. It was OK, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I found the consistency of the soup to be right on, you have to be patient and it will thicklen. It was also very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was so easy to make and it turned out great! My coworkers always want me to bring it to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbmayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States