Beer Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by chezanimalhair
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was delicious and easy-peasy to make! It *is* a thinner soup but it's still very rich and creamy. The beer I used is Stella Artois. I did use an immersion blender to smooth it out (I didn't want the chunks of onion and garlic). I will make this again for sure. I threw some bacon bits and popcorn on mine, but it was delicious without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chezanimalhair

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Love this. It's so simple, but so delicious on a chilly fall night. I make this with beer bread as it's also incredibly easy to make. Goes great together. The only things I changed was that I mixed the cornstarch (flour works okay too from what I've tried) with the chicken broth. It seemed to thicken it just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious! I topped it with crushed croutons and crumbled bacon and it was really good. I did one thing different, however. After reading the comments about thickening, and since I'm a newby at this kind of thing, I added the cornstarch slurry and thickened it before I added the cheese and cream. It worked out fine and as I said, was just delicious! Thank you, Debbie Rowe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Very good- very easy. I followed the last review posted and added the cornstarch mixture to thicken, then the half&half and cheese last- and until melted- not boiling. It makes sense not to boil the half&half- much creamier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
My teenage daughter loves this soup. I serve it with crusty bread . . . makes a very satisfying lunch on chilly days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reddelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
It didn't thicken up very well and I followed the recipe to the letter. Not the best flavor either. It was OK, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I found the consistency of the soup to be right on, you have to be patient and it will thicklen. It was also very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was so easy to make and it turned out great! My coworkers always want me to bring it to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbmayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This was super tasty. I followed the recipe exactly. I've made it a few times, and every time I have a slight problem with the texture. It's a little grainy, but the flavor is still delicious so I've made it again and again. Also, I used Land Shark lager. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddcrowley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monmouth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was really good and perfect to eat on a cold day. I used 1 1/2 cups of vegetable broth instead of a can of chicken broth. I added the cornstarch/water mixture along with broth and the soup was perfectly thick. We served this with cheese sprinkled on top and it was delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States