Beer Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
So. There I was, with my freshly cooked Mexican-seasoned chicken, all set to make Chicken Taco Soup for my family, when I realized, I had no beans. Well, we'd have had Chicken Tacos, but I'm also out of tortillas. By this time, I'm seriously craving something spicy with chicken and cheese, so, I found this recipe. I did use half the beer, substituted green onions, left out the water, added the cornstarch in with the stock, and will agree that the trick to "non-grainy-ness" is to add the cheese (I used 3 cups, pre-shredded) s-l-o-w-l-y... about 1/4 cup at a time, stirring well, over low heat. o. so I added my chicken, a can of tomatoes with chilis, and a TBSP of taco seasoning, and will probably use a thicker version of this recipe as a dip. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
We thought this soup had no flavor at all. It was not cheesy, the only flavor it had was from the bacon bits on top. It tasted more like Cream of Beer soup than anything else. I would not make this again without some significant adjustments, just not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Was a very good starting place for me. I did read numerous reviews ahead of time and took heed the reducing the beer by 1/2, using 3 cups cheese instead of 2, and I also omitted the water and mixed my cornstarch with some of the chicken stock. I used a good base I have instead of canned. The key to not having a "grainy" turn out is to remember to turn down the heat to med-low and add the cheese slowly and stir (I prefer whisking) continuously. If you don't care for beer i recommend using a nice reisling or chardonay. NEVER be afraid to try new variations. Variety is the Spice of Life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandon M.
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Fantastic soup. After reading some other comments, I added the cornstarch to the chicken stock and omitted the water. I also doubled the cheese, and it all worked perfectly. I'll be making this soup again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Pretty good soup! I used flour instead of the cornstarch and mixed it up with the cheese before adding. I used shredded cheese and mine was not grainy. It was a little thin, so I think next time I might add another cup of cheese, but other than that it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldorado, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Awesome! Everyone loved this. I added canned veggies to my toddlers bowl and she devoured it. One noteworthy change...the reason I made this was because I accidentally bought packaged sliced sharp american cheese and was looking for something to make with it. While it doesn't sound as tasty as true sharp cheese - it turned out perfect. Also mixed the cornstarch/water mixture with the beer to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I didn't care for the texture of this soup at all it was very grainy. If I tried it again I would take the recommendation from others and not use bagged cheese. The flavor was ok but it just didn't really work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
takes a while to make, not a simple 10 min soup, but boy is it worth it!!! play with the types of beer used for different flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
It was ok as a base, but I had to add more beer, more cheese, more Worcestershire sauce, and a lot more cornstarch. I used generic-brand sharp cheddar cheese, pre-grated, and had no problems with graininess. I think that was due to the fact that I added the cornstarch slurry before the cheese & 1/2 and 1/2. I didn't boil it after that, as that could cause the cheese to separate. It was pretty good after I made the adjustments, but without them, it wasn't what I was looking for in an authentic beer cheese soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph webb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States