Beer Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I made this soup tonight. I accidentally forgot to get chicken broth from the store, but it turned out to be an advantageous accident. It solved all of the "runny" problems that previous posters had mentioned. I followed the recipe in every other aspect, except for boiling down the beer to evaporation. I let it boil down for a few minutes and then added the cheese, etc. Tasted divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Great base recipe. Turned out the consistency of beer cheese soup I had when I worked at Colonial Williamsburg. I added a little dry mustard spice to give a little kick. And used dark beer because that's what I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Terrible. The soup is runny and rather than complimenting it, the beer completely overpowered it. To thicken it, you can puree some of it and that will improve the texture, however the flavor...not going to try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I'm going to have to make this more often. It's been a while since I've made it, but my boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was not good at all. Wasn't thick, tasted like watered down cheese mixture. Wouldn't recommend. Should have read the reviews before I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
i added and extra t of Worcestershire, salted the onions and garlic, used butter and heavy cream and about 2T yellow mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Soup was really easy to make and was very tasty, I would recommend to anyone who is a soup lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Super gross
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bamf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dresser, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I used Guinness when making this soup and used extra sharp cheddar, as well as, reducing the amount of onion. This was a huge hit. I doubled the recipe because of the amount of people I had over and I had to fight for my own bowl, Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Kullman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This soup tasted just like the kind of soup that I used to get as a kid at a restaurant that my family went to before it closed down. It reminded me of good times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States