Beer Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
It did have a pretty strong beer taste, but it was just shy of being too overwhelming. I just used the stuff my dad drinks, a brand called Third Shift. I added about a cup of extra cheese because I thought the flavor was a little heavy on the beer and a little light on the cheesiness. It was really hard to tell if the cheese was all melted or not because the soup was very opaque, but even though I came across a couple pieces that weren't totally melted when eating, it didn't affect the flavor. I used not quite 1/3 cup of onion and that seemed to be plenty. I didn't have any of the problems with runniness or gritty texture that other people mentioned, but I used my mom's suggestion on preventing this. I took a cup of the hot soup and poured it into the bowl with the cornstarch and water, mixed it, and then poured that mixture into the main soup pot and stirred. I'm not sure what this does exactly, but since the end result was thick and not grainy, I probably will use this method again next time I make the soup. We didn't have any bacon, so my mom prepared homemade croutons to serve with the soup. They tasted really great by themselves, by kind of lost their flavor once put into the soup. I'm not exactly sure how she made them, but all she used was bread, butter, parmesan cheese, and garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Quite disappointed . The cheese curdled . It was a very good quality extra old cheddar. I had to use the little hand blender to smash everything up to try to make it smooth. Didn't work really well either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I made this soup tonight. I accidentally forgot to get chicken broth from the store, but it turned out to be an advantageous accident. It solved all of the "runny" problems that previous posters had mentioned. I followed the recipe in every other aspect, except for boiling down the beer to evaporation. I let it boil down for a few minutes and then added the cheese, etc. Tasted divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Great base recipe. Turned out the consistency of beer cheese soup I had when I worked at Colonial Williamsburg. I added a little dry mustard spice to give a little kick. And used dark beer because that's what I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Terrible. The soup is runny and rather than complimenting it, the beer completely overpowered it. To thicken it, you can puree some of it and that will improve the texture, however the flavor...not going to try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I'm going to have to make this more often. It's been a while since I've made it, but my boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was not good at all. Wasn't thick, tasted like watered down cheese mixture. Wouldn't recommend. Should have read the reviews before I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
i added and extra t of Worcestershire, salted the onions and garlic, used butter and heavy cream and about 2T yellow mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Soup was really easy to make and was very tasty, I would recommend to anyone who is a soup lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Super gross
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bamf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dresser, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States