Beer Cheese Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I forgot to mention I used 16 oz of sharp cheddar instead of 8 and also omitted the parmesan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This recipe is for a genuine, and good, beer cheese soup. It was definitely worth the effort. The only warning I would give, is that you can taste the beer, so pick what beer you want to use wisely, and don't expect people who hate the taste of beer to like the soup. They don't have to really love beer, but at least not hate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was a big hit at a cookei exchange I hosted! It was even great reheated the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookie39
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Awesome soup, served with chunks of crusty french bread! I used Henry Weinhard's Organic Amber Premium Ale for the beer. The taste was a little too "sophisticated" for my 15 year old though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This soup was wonderful!! I kept everything just as listed, except for omitting the mushrooms and adding some steamed broccoli and I also added a small amount of Velveeta to help the rest of the cheese melt. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This soup is so easy and turned out great. I omitted the mushrooms, celery, cauliflower and onions because I didn't have any. Instead I used frozen mixed veggies, corn, peas carrots, and added broccoli. My 2 and 4 year old loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was very tasty - my new favorite way to eat cauliflower! The recipe called for 3/4 cup of butter. I only used 1/4 cup of butter, and it was fine. I also used low-sodium vegetable broth instead of chicken, and about 1/2 cup more carrots and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I really loved this soup! This has to be one of the best soups I've made/eaten - and I don't like beer! I didn't have any califlower but used potatoes, adding them with all the other veggies. I added a bit of sour cream in the end and I had less than a bottle of beer to put in it but you could still taste it. We topped it with additional parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Very good. I am no beer drinker - can't stand the stuff personally, but had great beer cheese soup at a local restaurant and was determined to make this at home. I was hesitant about how this would turn out because the only beer we had on hand was Bud Light Lime and I heard that the best beer soup is made with dark beer. But never-the-less I proceeded and followed the recipe exactly, except I omitted the mushrooms and cauliflower. I also added processed cheese cube (Velveeta) to the cheese mix. This was delicious and my family loved it. It was rich, creamy, and nice with just a hint of the beer taste. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I made it without the beer because I couldn't find our bottle opener. It was really good as just cheese soup so I bet it's great with the beer! I'll try it again now that I've found that bottle opener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States