Beer Cheese Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Aside from excluding the mushrooms, I kept this recipe the same. I also made a beer bread that I found the recipe for on here. Used a honey brown lager for both.. and both were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kortni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Onaway, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made many changes, just to suit my own taste - I left out the celery and cauliflower, used half cheddar cheese, and half velveta, and used dijon mustard instead of mustard powder, and I was really pleased with how this came out! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I made this recipe Wisconsin style and it's my favorite winter soup. I use Spotted Cow beer, Wisconsin cheddar, and add sliced grilled brats. It's so awesome how the flavors of beer, broth, and cheese meld together. I don't care for the flavor added by the green onions, but the rest of the vegetables are good. The only deficit is that the cheddar melts and clumps at the bottom. I need to work on modifying the texture without resorting to Velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This soup is wonderful, I make it again and again. I freeze the leftovers in single servings for my husband to take to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This is SO good! I followed the advice to add Velveeta (about 6 ounces). Since it did that, I used slightly less shredded sharp chedder (about 2 ounces less). I didn't have green onion on hand, so I used yellow onion, and light beer so it wouldn't overwhelm the soup. I salted and peppered the veggies while they sauteed and I forgot to steam the cauliflower separately, but it cooked perfectly during the 20 minute simmer. I didn't want to use 3/4 cup butter, so I used a few tbsps olive oil, and a couple tbsp light butter. I can't believe how good this soup is - the best soup I've had! I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Be careful which beer you choose. I used a dark beer with a slightly bitter after taste and was disappointed. I added Velveeta, a brick of cream cheese and a 1/2 cup of parmesean cheese to make it better. It made a decent cheese sauce, but next time I'll try Beer Cheese soup III.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
We all loved this! Easy and nice Winter's night soup..I use Sam Adams in the soup and served it along with! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was pretty good! I thought the flavor came out fairly bland prior to adding s&p, but I used half reduced sodium chicken broth which probably affected the flavor somewhat. I used extra sharp cheddar and Yeungling Black & Tan for the beer. The texture is nice and I particularly like the cauliflower in this! We served with a loaf of beer bread from Tastefully Simple and it went great together. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I had never had Beer Cheese Soup before but thought I would give it a try and I am glad I did this is really terrific. Can't wait for my husband to get home to try it. Thanks for a great recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I made this exactly as written, only using mild Cheddar rather than sharp, and light beer - and was initially very unimpressed. While I loved the chunkiness of the vegetables, the broth itself was watery rather than creamy and even had flecks or grains of cheese in it - not pretty. I took a guess on what would correct this and added a good chunk of Velveeta, noted for it's smoothness and melting quality. I can't tell you what an incredible difference this made! The soup was totally transformed and became creamy, rich and smooth! I was so pleased! Even though to start I really wanted to rate this as three stars, the soup ended up being so darn good I didn't want to take the risk of turning anyone off to it. With just this small change of adding Velveeta, this became a five star soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States