Beer Cheese Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Made this recipe for a 4th of July party. Everyone enjoyed it. I have had this soup at many gatherings. Thank you for sharing the recipe. I used Coors Light beer in my soup. Going to make again, but this time add in some mild Italian sausage. Making some biscuit bread to go with it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
First time making this and my husband and I loved it!!! I didn't add the green onion or carrots, instead I replaced with diced red potatoes, chopped white onion and kielbasa that we needed to use up. I also used 4 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of milk. Used 8 oz. of Sharp Cheddar Cheese and 8 oz. of Monterey Jack and no Parmesan. My husband likes things to have a bit of a kick so I added about 1 1/2 tsp. of Cayenne pepper and ground black paper for taste. As for the beer I chose Sam Adam's Boston Lager which made it come together wonderfully! Served in toasted sourdough bread bowls and we had the perfect warm meal on a cold night :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I made this recipe last week, and my husband, friend, and baby son (age 10 mos) loved it. I did a couple of things differently. As much as I hated to use processed cheese, I did add about 4 oz of Velveeta. I didn't use celery because I didn't have any. I used extra carrots and mushrooms because I wanted to use them up. I used water instead of chicken broth, again because I didn't have any. I used good quality extra sharp cheese, I think it was slightly more than 8 oz. And I used a stout beer (Deschutes Obsidian) which was a great choice. All in all the soup came together wonderfully - with all the chunky veggies it was really more like a veggie soup in beer cheese broth but what a great way to eat your veggies! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I skipped the celery and mushrooms, added leek, and did 1/2 head caulflower 2 small heads of broccoli...this was delicious. My husband will want me to make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Woodboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
It’s my first time to prepare soup with beer and it’s worth it. Really comforting food for a day! Soupssimo also has a great and unique list of soup dishes which you’ll definitely love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Unfortunately, we didn't care for this soup so much. I wanted to taste a beer soup, but it turned out just not our taste. The texture was pretty dense, but the taste a little boring. I didn't use cauliflor and don't think it would make a much difference. I don't think this is a recipe I will be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I'm sorry. Way too much beer flavor. I thought the beer would cook off more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is the absolute BEST beer cheese soup I have ever had in my life...I made a few little changes based on other suggestions and it was superb!!! First of all...the only vegis I used were the green onions and celery...Next time, I will add chopped potatoes however...I used a honey-dijon mustard as I didn't have any mustard powder..and it worked just fine..I also used only 4 cups of chicken broth and added one cup of cream of chicken soup (as this is usually the base of most beer-cheese soups)...I then used only 4 ounces of Cheddar and substituted the other 4 with Velveeta....I also forgot to use the Parmesan cheese but it didn't matter...the soup was absolutely FANTASTIC!! Perfectly smooth texture and not gritty or grainy at all...I highly recommend this recipe and it is now my beer cheese soup staple...will make it again and again!! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I never comment on recipies.com... my wife thought I should open a restraunt with this recipy alone....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States