Beer Cheese Pretzel and Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 18, 2004
I took this to a party and got rave reviews. I used someone's suggestion of melting the cheese sauce in a mini crock pot rather than using a food processor - worked good. I also shaped the dough into breadsticks and then cut up into more bite-size shapes after baking and put in a basket alongside the dip. Will make it again and maybe experiment with different beers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Very, very good - but not really pretzel-like. More of a warm bread and dip, but still definitely worth making and eating. You'll need to add flour during the kneading & shaping process, which isn't mentioned in the recipe. I added a few drops of red food coloring to my kosher salt and shaped the dough into linked hearts for a valentine's effect. It was big hit with my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This is a pretty good dip recipe, but it is salty. The beer gives it a smooth liquidy texture. I'd use fresh garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe!!I bring it to every party I go to and everyone begs for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Everyone in my office was so impressed by this! I used Killian's Red, and you can taste the difference! The additional plus is that it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Okay, I only used the beer cheese portion of this recipe and made it with "Buttery Soft Pretzels" also from this site. The cheese part is AWESOME!! LOVED IT! I think it could make any pretzel taste great!! Maybe it was the beer I used but next time, I won't use the garlic powder...I didn't think it was neccessary b/c the combo of cheese(s) and beer was good enough!! The cheese makes ALOT!!! Will be making this for many parties and events to come!! Thanks Doreen!!(PS-next time, I'll try and find that dough referred to by the submitter. I tried to find it in my grocery store but couldn't..thus I made my own pretzels. Anyone know a good brand I should try?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Yum! I use this recipe for the dip only, I have a tried and true pretzel recipe that I use. The dip is excellent-I warm it up on the stove and serve it from a mini crockpot. Really nice flavor, so much better than just a regular cheese sauce. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
The first time I made this I made the bread part of it into a round loaf of bread, no shape. It is pretty tasty but the second time I made this I took french bread, sliced it very thin, sprayed with some spray butter and spinkled with some herb/grated parmesean cheese and baked them for about 8 minutes a side. They were MUCH better with this dip. This dip is the better part of this recipe, it is a very tasty basic cheese spread. I too heated the ingredients and served it warm. It was just as tasty chilled the next day though. I also added some ground ancho chile powder to the dip too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This recipe is great. I've taken it to family functions and parties with friends several times. It's always been a real hit. Instead of mixing the cheese dip in a food processor, I cook it all on the stove and serve warm. It's very good and goes well with the warm pretzel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I absolutely love this recipe! I have given the recipe out so many times. It is definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States