Beer Cheese Philly Steak Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Wow, this was good...a little rich, but good! I don't have beer, so I used beef broth laced with a little red wine vinegar for a little tang. Other than that, no changes. I only gave four stars because the bread was a little weird. Maybe next time I will toast it or something. I know a cheesesteak doesn't have toasted bread, but it's also not swimming in cheese sauce. It made the bread a little doughy. Leftovers this morning are not quite as good as the dish was for dinner last night, so I would recommend trying to consume it all in one fell swoop. A great recipe, though. Definitely worth trying and possibly making again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I added some fresh mushrooms and garlic to the recipe. It turned out great. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Super yum! BAsed on what others said, I used 1 box Stove Top stuffing on the bottom by soaking the bread stuff and forming into a thin crust. I then put it under the broiler for 2 minutes to firm & crisp. No beer either, used drippings from the beef and beef broth, as suggested also. Due to the Stuffing, I lessened all spices, especially salt. I know I tweeked it a bit, but this recipe is AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This was between 3 and 4 stars for me. I think it's a great recipe, but I didn't expect it to taste so much like beer. I think if I make this again, I'd maybe use beef boullion or cook some of the alcohol out of the beer. It was just too overpowering for me since I wanted to taste Philly cheese steak, not beer. But, in general I think it's a great idea for a casserole and everything else about it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I rated this recipe based on the confidence that it would be wonderful if made as written. I made it with frozen Philly steaks, which I'm sure affected the quality slightly. (Next time I would cook the steaks as directed on the package, in a skillet, instead of heating them along with the spices and broth.)Not having beer, I used beef broth and a little balsamic vinegar. The only reason I gave it a 4 was because my hubby thought the bread on the bottom was too soggy, but our preferences differ on this point. The cheese on top gave it a great texture to balance the soggy bread, in my opinion. Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This has a really nice flavor and I liked it better reheated. I think this would be a good recipe to make the night before, so all the flavors can blend before baking. There is a strong beer flavor to it, so I recommend using half the beer and drinking the other half while you cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilydonovan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
What a great idea! the sauce is so good. I used red, yellow, and orange peppers instead of green. I also only used monterey and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
We didn't like it at all. Don't know if I fixed it wrong, probably did. Didn't like the consistency of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mayfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
this was so incredibly good! i made it with two minor alterations: i would recommend spraying the bread cubes with pam and sprinkling garlic on it beforehand. and i wouldn't use as much beer, but try to balance it out with beef broth! other than that it was AMAZING! thank you for putting this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Very good! I made it for Father's Day ahead of time. I think everyone will enjoy it. I had a lot of round steak which is pretty tough. So I simmered the heck out of it till it was tender. Also, I just mixed all the spices and liquids (except milk) together to simmer with the beef. I threw the onions and peppers in at the end. I sub'd a little bacon fat for the butter since I had some from another recipe...not low fat but tastes great! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Seidenspinner Durjan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States