Beer Cheese Philly Steak Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
It was something different. My family loved it & I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I toasted the bread cubes, but I think I may double toast next time to get the consistency closer to croutons or try the stovetop suggestion in other posts. Doubled the Worcestershire and hot sauce. I'd also half the beer or just swap for beef broth and natural juices. The presence of the beer flavor is distracting. My husband LOVED this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I left the beer out all together! I purchased a cheap eye round cut of steak. I cooked the steak in crock pot with can of beef broth and equal water. I through in some of the spices and a bay leaf, cooked on low for 6 hours. I followed the rest of the directions and only added the spices once ie, pharagragh 5 was confusing. I used a loaf of sliced stale french bread. I sprayed bread with pam and a dash of garlic powder then toasted on both side. Poured cheese sauce over meat and veggie and bread. Added the cheese on top and baked. I used the beef broth to the cheese sauce instead of beer! Everything was really dry before the cheese sauce was added, so I think that is partly why the bread did'nt get soagy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Didn't like the sogginess of the bread. The sauce was nice. DH didn't like the cheese on top. We finished it but won't repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was not good at all. I did prebake the bread cubes, but then followed the recipe as written. The bread is mushy after baking. The taste distantly resembles a Philly cheese steak. The beer gives the cheese sauce a strange flavor. The expense of a tender rib eye is lost, it comes out tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I rated this recipe based on the confidence that it would be wonderful if made as written. I made it with frozen Philly steaks, which I'm sure affected the quality slightly. (Next time I would cook the steaks as directed on the package, in a skillet, instead of heating them along with the spices and broth.)Not having beer, I used beef broth and a little balsamic vinegar. The only reason I gave it a 4 was because my hubby thought the bread on the bottom was too soggy, but our preferences differ on this point. The cheese on top gave it a great texture to balance the soggy bread, in my opinion. Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
this was so incredibly good! i made it with two minor alterations: i would recommend spraying the bread cubes with pam and sprinkling garlic on it beforehand. and i wouldn't use as much beer, but try to balance it out with beef broth! other than that it was AMAZING! thank you for putting this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
very good just tried it omg :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This is the first negative review I have ever left, first recipe I have ever tried that I am deleting out of my box. I love phillycheese steaks, I love beer, I love to cook and 99.9% of the time I can take the recipe on here and reviewers suggestions and come out with something awesome. This was not. It was mushy and bland and expensive to have three bites eaten and not eat the rest of the casserole. My husband and I did not like this one at all. I wish I could make it to our liking but I am not even going to try this one again. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
A big hit with everyone. I used 2 onions, orange bell pepper, added mushrooms and used Focaccia bread. Re: paragraph 5 - it confused me, so I added each spice only once and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States