Beer Cheese Philly Steak Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I made this with a few differences. I cut the recipe in half because there was only two of us and I used toasted (to prevent sogginess) white bread slices making it more like an open-faced sandwich and New York steak. My friend and I really loved it and I will be making it again with bread cubes. I was surprised that the alcohol taste cook out a lot while in the oven, there was more taste before hand. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Yum! There was a good kick to it. Next time I might not use the full can of beer (you could really taste the beer) and use a little less black pepper and hot sauce. Overall delicious! Leftovers are just as good if not better than fresh from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
It was something different. My family loved it & I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I toasted the bread cubes, but I think I may double toast next time to get the consistency closer to croutons or try the stovetop suggestion in other posts. Doubled the Worcestershire and hot sauce. I'd also half the beer or just swap for beef broth and natural juices. The presence of the beer flavor is distracting. My husband LOVED this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I left the beer out all together! I purchased a cheap eye round cut of steak. I cooked the steak in crock pot with can of beef broth and equal water. I through in some of the spices and a bay leaf, cooked on low for 6 hours. I followed the rest of the directions and only added the spices once ie, pharagragh 5 was confusing. I used a loaf of sliced stale french bread. I sprayed bread with pam and a dash of garlic powder then toasted on both side. Poured cheese sauce over meat and veggie and bread. Added the cheese on top and baked. I used the beef broth to the cheese sauce instead of beer! Everything was really dry before the cheese sauce was added, so I think that is partly why the bread did'nt get soagy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Didn't like the sogginess of the bread. The sauce was nice. DH didn't like the cheese on top. We finished it but won't repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was not good at all. I did prebake the bread cubes, but then followed the recipe as written. The bread is mushy after baking. The taste distantly resembles a Philly cheese steak. The beer gives the cheese sauce a strange flavor. The expense of a tender rib eye is lost, it comes out tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I rated this recipe based on the confidence that it would be wonderful if made as written. I made it with frozen Philly steaks, which I'm sure affected the quality slightly. (Next time I would cook the steaks as directed on the package, in a skillet, instead of heating them along with the spices and broth.)Not having beer, I used beef broth and a little balsamic vinegar. The only reason I gave it a 4 was because my hubby thought the bread on the bottom was too soggy, but our preferences differ on this point. The cheese on top gave it a great texture to balance the soggy bread, in my opinion. Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
this was so incredibly good! i made it with two minor alterations: i would recommend spraying the bread cubes with pam and sprinkling garlic on it beforehand. and i wouldn't use as much beer, but try to balance it out with beef broth! other than that it was AMAZING! thank you for putting this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
very good just tried it omg :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Mini Philly Cheese Steak

See how to make tiny cheese steak appetizers.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States