Beer Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This was wonderful! The beer smelled awful when first beginning to heat it but once the cheese was added it became super fragrant. We had to stir it, continuously, for almost 10 more minutes than we were supposed to because the cheese was not thickening like we wanted it. Served with cauliflower and french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I boiled a can of bud select, let it simmer till the foam was going away, then switched heat to low and added a bunch of shredded cheddar and gruyere. Man gruyere is expensive, but the processed gruyere doesn't work, you have to get the real deal. I added the 2T flour, a little salt, pepper, garlic powder, and tiny bit of worcestershire. I did this kinda ghetto because I dont have a fondue pot, I just transferred the fondue to a slow cooker set to warm mode :) It worked:) Served with chopped breads and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
First time making fondue and this was an easy recipe. Make sure to let the beer simmer a little until the foam is almost gone and stirred the whole time while slowly adding the cheese. We used this to dip steak and bread, it was great. Now I will try more ambitious recipes in the futre but for a first timer was perfect no issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Higgins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
this may have been a case of too many cooks causing trouble, but this recipe really didn't work for us. We tried it with cheddar/jack cheese, and that may have been the issue, but the cheese never melted all the way. It ended up really gloppy, and no combination of more cheese, more beer, more heat, less heat, more stirring...ad nauseum would fix it. Never had this trouble before! It still tasted ok, but gloppy is not the texture we were going for. however, I'm sure this was a case of 'user error' rather than fault of the recipe. Just wish I could figure out where we went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Delicious! And no problems at all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Tweaked the recipe a bit due to limited options in the fridge. Used a can of colors light with medium cheddar and a Mexican cheese blend. It didn't seem to be as think and cheesy as I wanted so i added a little bit of cornstarch and a lot more cheese. Not only did my husband and I eat all of it with our dinner but I swear I've been craving it randomly since. Oh, and one more thing, I made mine in a medium sauce pan because I don't have a fondue pot and it worked just fine. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I just added minced garlic to the pot, but otherwise made this as instructed. It was a hit with the crowd of visitors! We will make this again and again. Thanks for a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
FINALLY! A recipe that doesn't clump up and yet has a good swiss taste. We used Cache brand extra sharp cheese and some expensive swiss. We have been doing fondue every Christmas Eve for 19 years and never gave up on finding a recipe! We used Coors Light and 1 -2 teaspoons of tabasco sauce and dipped bread, granny smith apples and cheese tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
When I added the flour, the cheese did not consolidate like it should, even after stirring and cooking for 8-10 minutes. I whisked in an extra half tablespoon flour, and that helped, so I whisked in the other half. Bingo - perfection. That perfection was short-lived. In the time it took me to bring everything to the table, my fondue had gone from smooth and creamy to grainy to lumpy. I took it back to the stove top, stirred vigorously, and reheated a bit, but it didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States