Beer Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
When I added the flour, the cheese did not consolidate like it should, even after stirring and cooking for 8-10 minutes. I whisked in an extra half tablespoon flour, and that helped, so I whisked in the other half. Bingo - perfection. That perfection was short-lived. In the time it took me to bring everything to the table, my fondue had gone from smooth and creamy to grainy to lumpy. I took it back to the stove top, stirred vigorously, and reheated a bit, but it didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Easy, delicious cheese fondue recipe. The only thing I changed was adding more of the hot sauce to it. Loved the taste and texture. Highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was wonderful and so easy.........the only thing did differently was to add some sliced garlic to the beer when it was cooking....will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Tweaked the recipe a bit due to limited options in the fridge. Used a can of colors light with medium cheddar and a Mexican cheese blend. It didn't seem to be as think and cheesy as I wanted so i added a little bit of cornstarch and a lot more cheese. Not only did my husband and I eat all of it with our dinner but I swear I've been craving it randomly since. Oh, and one more thing, I made mine in a medium sauce pan because I don't have a fondue pot and it worked just fine. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Worked perfectly, the key to avoid clumping is to add the cheese mixture a little bit at a time while constantly whisking. We left out the hot pepper sauce as the kids were eating it as well and still tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This is excellent! You just have to keep at the stirring with a whisk and don't give up. It looked horrible for me but then it was all incorporated and creamy in the end. Great with blanched broccoli, cauliflower, asparagus, apples and pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I just added minced garlic to the pot, but otherwise made this as instructed. It was a hit with the crowd of visitors! We will make this again and again. Thanks for a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Followed the directions to the letter. Was a bit stringy/watery for my liking. It may have been the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was better than my other straight beer and cheddar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
FINALLY! A recipe that doesn't clump up and yet has a good swiss taste. We used Cache brand extra sharp cheese and some expensive swiss. We have been doing fondue every Christmas Eve for 19 years and never gave up on finding a recipe! We used Coors Light and 1 -2 teaspoons of tabasco sauce and dipped bread, granny smith apples and cheese tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States