Beer Cheese Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Although I'm sure this makes for a great appetizer, this went great with our chili dinner!! I used a loaf of french bread (buttered and broiled for a few min to make "crusty" bread). Also, I could tell this was going to make ALOT so I reduced the cream cheese to (1) 8oz pkg, used 8oz velveeta instead of cheddar (keeping it creamy) and no garlic powder. If you melt in the microwave and stir every minute until heated through and melted, it turns out great and clean-up is minimal (and you can dip RIGHT from the bowl). Also prevents burning or any other possible disasters. I still have a little leftover, so I guess I'll have to get more bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This is so easy. Everyone loved it! I made it for friends and family. I did not have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This recipe was very easy. I just dumped all the ingredients in my food processor and "pulsed" until it was the right consistancy. I added quite a bit more garlic than what was called for and a dash of "Italian seasoning" - it turned out fantastic. I also used a "beer bread" recipe from Allrecipes submitted by Jodi Regan for my serving loaf--easy! I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARISUENICHOLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This was wonderful! I took this to a party, and there were absolutely none leftover! I made a couple of changes to it though. I added quite a bit more garlic and some Italian seasoning, and instead of just mixing it all together, I melted it all together. Everyone loved it, and I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This is delicious!! I followed other reviewers' suggestions, and added green onion and italian seasonings. I LOVED the taste, but didn't like the consistency. (Too stiff for a bread bowl, and the cheddar cheese made it too lumpy. GREAT as a dip for pretzels, though!!) So - again - I followed another reviewer's suggestion to melt the ingredients. PERFECT! I put it in a cheddar/garlic bread bowl, and it got rave reviews. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
This was a big hit at my 4th of July annual barbecue. Everyone asked for the recipe. I did follow the suggestion of another reviewer, and I melted the ingredients in the microwave. I melted them on high power, stirring after one minute, until it reached the desired consistency. Be careful not to overcook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mills River, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
I followed the suggestions about using velveeta, adding green onions, and microwaving. Took to a party with onion bagel pieces. No one said anything, but it was all gone and it wasn't that big of a party. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I love this recipe!!! I have made it on many occasions with a few alterations, and people devour it! I am always asked for the recipe, and people beg me to make it for parties. I usually add more beer and garlic, and since this thins the consistency, I'll throw in a handful of shredded Romano cheese to thicken it back up. Blue cheese is also a great add-in for a twist on the taste. IF you have any leftovers (if I don't use a bread bowl I can sometimes scrape some up), try adding a couple of spoonfuls to mashed potatoes for a new side dish. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I had my first dinner party at my new place, and most of my friends have very different tastes in foods. This was a big hit with everyone and really got everyone together and got them talking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Very easy to make!! Didn't have enough kick, so I added a generous amount of cayenne pepper along with some Texas Pete. Made it excellent!! To make a little creamier, add extra beer after taking out of the fridge and before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States