Beer Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Let me tell you how I did my Beer Cake. First, I did not have a yellow cake mix but I had a Butter cake mix and I used that. I did not have vanilla pudding but I had Lemon pudding and used that. For adding the beer I used a cup like it said but used the regular directions off the cake mix box. Mixed it all up and baked it like the recipe said to. Then after it was baked I left it in the Tube pan while I made a glaze for it. What I did was use the rest of the beer about 4oz then added about 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons of butter and a 1 1/3 cup of sugar put it all in a sauce pan and brought it to a boil to make it like a syrup. I poured some over the top of the cake let it soak in then I took cake flipped it on to a plate and drizzled more on the top. Let me tell you that was the most moist cake I had ever had. I had so many comments on it everyone thought it was AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riesel, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
I made this cake as an alternative for those who do not eat ice-cream cake that I served at my daughters 8th birthday party. It was a very big hit among all the adults and several of the kids enjoyed it too. I made the cake using Pillsbury yellow cake mix and French Vanilla instant pudding mix and a bottle of Budwiser Beer. I also used exra large eggs. The batter was extremely easy and you need to beat it on high for a couple of minutes. It will become thick and smooth. The cake is very light and fluffy, probably due to the beer. I sprinkled the cake with powdered sugar and it gave it just the right amount of sweetness - is was just perfect. A great way to make a boxed cake just a notch better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
While I was searching for a cake recipe (on the best on-line recipe finder site), I "stumbled" across this Beer Cake and am I glad I did!! All the ingredients were even on hand!! My hubby said QUOTE "Don't lose that recipe, it's the best cake you've ever made" Kinda hurt my feelings since I bake alot and always try making cakes with all the "fancy" ingredients...We even made Strawberry Shortcake the next day and it was better than using a pound cake for that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKYLEE222

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
I first tried this recipe about four years ago, and it's become a favorite request in our house. If you have issues with tasting the beer, try using diet cream soda. For a friend who doesn't approve of alcohol, I made this recipe using diet vanilla cream soda. It turned out great and prevented the usual slight banana flavor I get when using a light beer. The cream soda is especially good with white cake mix and white chocolate pudding. The best thing about this recipe is how versatile it is. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
Nothing other than yellow cake with a frosting on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Now now, be nice "Aragona" - this is a fantastic recipe - esspecially for people like me who are too busy to make every dessert they serve from scratch. No one could tell it wasn't entirely homemade!! This cake gets even better the next day and has become a favorite with my boyfriend (who piggishly ate half himself throughout the day!!:)) I'm keeping this great recipe!! Thanks Val for sharing it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
This is how I like my cake!! The MOST moist cake I've ever made. I used 5% alcohol apple cider instead of beer, and it's got a hint of apple flavor to it. Wonder recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
wonderful cake! I made two 9" rounds and baked for 25-30 minutes at 350. I added the zest and juice of one lemon and 1 teaspoon lemon extract to make a lemon cake. Turned out very moist and delicious. Iced with Special Buttercream Frosting. Guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This cake is a winner!! I made it on Mother's Day and everybody loved it. I used an English imported beer called Newcastle Brown Ale. It was great in the cake and I enjoyed drinking the other bottles too! I used a cream cheese frosting I found on this website too. I am going to buy another fancier bundt cake pan just for this recipe. Thanks Val for sharing this - you're a sweetheart!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAKANANI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
The beer and cake was a bad mix. I couldn't get past the smell and the taste of beer was very strong. It was kind of dry as well. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States