Beer Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Megan Scamardi
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I made this because I had all the ingredients in the house already and I wanted to try something different than beer bread. It's moist and flavorful- I love how beer can give dessert a certain depth of flavor! I will definitely make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This cake is amazing soooo moist & delicious! My husband loves it (he said it is better than his mom's pound cake...shhh, don't tell!). If you don't like the taste of beer, then use a light beer (Coors, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
My recips is the same other thab I pour a block of melted butter on top and I use Heineken Light beer, winner cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I have made this cake about 20 times, using variations on the theme (using chocolate cake, lemon, nuts...), and I have never had any left over. It's so moist and delicious, and it tastes EXCELLENT with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Superbly moist and absolutely delicious! This was a favorite at lunch with the other teachers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
This cake was good but not great, it was moist and for some reason there was a beer aftertaste, I wasn't sure what beer to use. I used Yuengling beer, would it been better if it was some other brand or kind? Overall, a good tasting cake with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Let me tell you how I did my Beer Cake. First, I did not have a yellow cake mix but I had a Butter cake mix and I used that. I did not have vanilla pudding but I had Lemon pudding and used that. For adding the beer I used a cup like it said but used the regular directions off the cake mix box. Mixed it all up and baked it like the recipe said to. Then after it was baked I left it in the Tube pan while I made a glaze for it. What I did was use the rest of the beer about 4oz then added about 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons of butter and a 1 1/3 cup of sugar put it all in a sauce pan and brought it to a boil to make it like a syrup. I poured some over the top of the cake let it soak in then I took cake flipped it on to a plate and drizzled more on the top. Let me tell you that was the most moist cake I had ever had. I had so many comments on it everyone thought it was AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riesel, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I regularly make beer pancakes, so I was looking forward to this cake recipe. I was very disappointed... it was too done (and I even adjusted the time to meet my oven's uniqueness) and it tasted too much like beer (maybe with an "off" banana taste. I tried it for several days, thinking it might get better with age, but I was wrong. Too bad, because I was really looking forward to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XineRevelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Very moist with added some frosting....my husband ate it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
This was great. I definitely recommend this recipe - good with a burnt butter frosting/glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTENHIPS

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States