Beer Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I tried out this recipe for my friend's birthday, and there were absolutely no scraps left! It was delicious!! I made it exactly as written, only I used "Butter Recipe Yellow cake mix, and added lemon and orange peel shavings. I opted for good old fashion Budweiser for the beer and it turned out great. Oh, and Pilsbury's WHIPPED Cream Cheese frosting was my finishing touch! enjoy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
My grandaughter requested a yellow cake with chocolate frosting so I tried this one and she gave it a thumbs up, so I know I will be making this one again. It is a nice moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Not bad. I used this as a base recipe and made a chocolate cake using a Devil's Food cake mix, chocolate instant pudding and Guinness stout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakeKelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I used DOS EQUIS beer. It's very moist. I didn't really detect the beer flavor in it...maybe only slightly. It baked in only 45 minutes so check your cake early. Dump it out of the bundt pan while the pan is still warm. Use shortening, not margarine or oil, to grease pans, as margarine and oil absorb more readily into the batter causing it to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I made this for a fried's bachelor party that i was helping my husband host. I figured it kinda fit their theme of Beer! My husband asked me only 2 hours before the party if i could make a cake and some snacks for them. I got on here and found that recipe and cooked it up quickly! Everyone loved it. I made 2 pans of it and the 11 people at the party ate every last bite within an hour! The soon to be married even told me i had to give his soon to be wife the recipe! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Travis Afb, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I made this for a gathering and usually I 'wow' the croud with what I make. This didn't impress a soul. I made it because all the men I know love beer and would get a kick out of eating BEER cake but I should have made something else. Sorry, I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
No. I followed exactly, and I did not care for the flavor of this recipe. I agree with others that the beer left a "bannana-ey" flavor. It was very moist, I'll give it that, and easy...but none of that mattters if no one will eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by w
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was a very easy recipe, very moist and sweet cake, although I didn't exactly follow the directions. Instead of using just 1 cup of beer, I found it easier to just use the whole bottle (Bud light). I only had white cake and pumpkin spice pudding, so that was the combination I used. The pumpkin spice was really quite subtle, so the cake just tasted very sweet, and there was no hint of beer flavor at all. I also only had 3 eggs, but the cake turned out fine. Very moist, almost sticky, but quite good. Next time I would recommend just using a cake mix that already has pudding in it, b/c adding the pudding mix seems to double the sweetness - the sweetness from the cake mix AND the pudding mix. It's a little much, I think, but still delicious... just nothing to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Scamardi
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I made this because I had all the ingredients in the house already and I wanted to try something different than beer bread. It's moist and flavorful- I love how beer can give dessert a certain depth of flavor! I will definitely make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This cake is amazing soooo moist & delicious! My husband loves it (he said it is better than his mom's pound cake...shhh, don't tell!). If you don't like the taste of beer, then use a light beer (Coors, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States