Beer Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. i thought the beer taste would have mixed in, but it was like drinking a beer and eating cake at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I made this cake this morning and added a cup of huckleberries from the freezer we had picked over the summer while camping and it was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Sadly, my review is based on the taste of small bits that stuck to my poorly greased bundt pan, as I made this for a benefit bake sale. I baked the cake according to directions, though I didn't measure the beer, just guesstimated, using a bottle of Molson Canadian. For a glaze, I used the rec of other reviewers and combined Sam Adams Octoberfest beer (maybe 6oz), 1 1/3 C sugar, and 2 tbls butter in a saucepan on high. I boiled for 5 minutes, then let it cool a little and drizzled it over the cake. It was VERY thick (perhaps because I cooked too long?), so if you do this do NOT let it totally cool or it won't be drizzle-able! I then sprinkled the glazed cake w/crushed pretzel pieces. While I wasn't able to taste it all together, the bites of cake and licks of the glaze spoon tasted awesome! I tried to convince my SMIL to sell it by the piece, as opposed to a whole cake, just so i could try a slice! TY for a nice different cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly as written. It filled the bundt pan to the top. The cake is more like a chiffon texture. Topped simply with powdered sugar, it makes a simple light dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
very good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARKRAZI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I made this with a white cake mix as a trial run and it was amazing. I made one with a yellow cake mix for the guy next door and it also turned out really well... a very light fluffy cake if you don't put in the pudding... i had cake mix with pudding in it already and didn't want it to be too solid if i would have added more. I also made the glaze another member suggested and it was amazing on top...4 oz beer (1/2 cup) 1 1/2 tablespoons butter and sugar i put in a little more sugar though 2/3 cups because it was too thin otherwise.... thanks to the member that suggested the glaze and gave the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnieFox
Home Town: Independence, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I noticed that many folks were unsure as to what kind of beer to choose. I selected a flavored beer Blue Moon's Pumkin ale. The cake turned out with a pumkin spice flavor. I have thought of useing lemon pudding and a summer shandy ale, which is a lemonade beer. happy cake making
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I can't believe this cake is SO easy and SO good! I used a yellow cake mix and Coors light. I couldn't find my bundt pan so I used a 10 inch pyrex glass rectangle (still followed baking time and temp.). There are so many things you could top this cake with like cool whip, ice cream, fresh fruit, cream cheese icing... but it is the best just plain! It baked up so moist and fluffy, it has been so hard not to scarf the whole thing up!! The smell alone is delicious, the taste is heavenly! This is my new go-to cake recipe, hands down!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fulshear, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Good cake. The kids loved it. For our cake we used french vanilla cake mix, sugar free white chocolate pudding and miller light. I also sprinkled chocolate chips on the cake batter before baking- they form a "crust" on the bottom when you flip the cake over. Thanks for the recipe! Oh- I only had 3 eggs and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Late2Class
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I've been making this cake for a few years now, it's GREAT!!! Coming up with new variations is part of the fun. I've done white cake, pistachio pudding and Monster Energy Drink, very yummy. Also yellow cake with cheesecake pudding and Strawberry Bacquardi, delicish!! The options are endless. We do a cookoff/Iron Chef with friends, this cake won our cooking with Beer Competition!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Late2Class

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States