Beer Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was fantastic! I took some other's suggestions: I used yellow cake mix, lemon pudding, and Blue Moon wheat beer in the batter. The better the quality of beer, the better the taste. I took another reviewer's recipe for glaze (remaining 4 oz beer, 2 T. butter, 1 1/2 c. sugar and added the juice of half a lemon). When the cake came out, I poked holes with a skewer and poured half the hot glaze mixture over it. I let it rest 15 minutes, turned it out, and poured the remaining glaze over the top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
A very delicious and moist (lemon) cake. I used Duncan Hines yellow cake mix, added instant lemon pudding mix and the juice of half a lemon to the batter. For beer, I used a Sierra Nevada Torpedo, an IPA that goes well with lemon. The cake did not taste at all like beer, but was very light and moist. I made a glaze using the juice of a whole lemon, and about 1/4 cup of sugar, microwaved it until hot, and poured it on top of the cake after it cooled. The only slight complaint I had was that it was fairly sweet due to the pudding and cake mix - but overall, still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I used olive oil in place of vegetable oil and substituted sparkling apple cider in place of beer for a bit more flavor. This was a huge success and everyone raved about it. Topped with some vanilla icing, the cake turned out wonderfully moist and flavorful. ALTITUDE NOTE: We live at 6,000 ft so I increased the amount of cider by 2 tbsp., which was the perfect amount for our dry, thin air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I made this cake for the first time on Sunday. It was wonderful! I made it for a bunch of guys at a car dealership (so I'm not sure if they loved just just because it had beer in it, or if it was truly delicious), but it was very moist. I threw a hand-full of dark chocolate and white chocolate chips into the batter. I also iced it all over, not just a drizzle - that way when I sliced it, every piece had a good amount of icing on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I made this cake for the first time yesterday and it was amazing. I was worried it would taste to beery but the cake was eaten quickly. I did use the syrup described in one of the other reviews and poured it on the cake before removing it from the pan. I also heated up and poured Pilsberry cream cheese frosting on top. Very good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
The cake turned out really moist.... The only thing I did different was followed the instructions on the box, with the filling, and using Guiness Beer instead of water. Easy to make and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I made this with dark choc cake mix, choc pudding mix, and a chocolate stout (beer). The batter was really thick, but it baked up really light. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was awesome. Very easy to make and super moist. When I told my daughter I made a beer cake... she was hesitant, but when she tried it, she kept picking on it all day long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I tried this recipe using a devil's food cake mix, didn't add the pudding (I didn't have any) and used Guinness Stout Beer. I iced it with a chocolate buttercream frosting from this site. I brought it to a Bday BBQ, and everyone liked this cake more than the one they bought for the birthday. There wasn't any left to bring home! Next time I will try it with the pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dana
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
It was okay. My husband liked it. You should specify what type of Beer you used. We live in Germany so I used a German beer. Not sure if that was why I didn't like it. I'm not a beer fan to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States