Beer Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I love this recipe, so yummy & easy. I took this cake to work for a tailgate party (what’s a tailgate party without beer,lol) and it was gobbled up. I used butterscotch pudding that I had on hand and took REGINA73 suggestion of making the glaze, 1 1/3 cups sugar, rest of beer & 2 tbs butter then boil, when cake came out of oven let rest about 5 min then poked holes and poured glaze over cake, let it sit in pan for about 15 min, then turned it out, let it cool and drizzled a glaze (powered sugar and milk) over the cake, very moist & good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vavseba

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe is sooo versatile! I made it with pumpkin spice pudding and cranberry lambic beer, both of which are in season right now in New Hampshire. I also tossed in a cup of chopped frozen cranberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I made 2 of these using 2 kinds of beer and served them at a party for 20 people last week. One was a spice cake with regular American beer and the other was chocolate cake with a stout beer. There was not a crumb left and I was asked a dozen times for the recipe. At least 4 people told me they really don't enjoy cake much but this changed their mind. Guess us country folk enjoy this type of cake more then some others do. But I know I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is better (my personal opinion) with devils food cake, dark chocolate pudding and guinness extra stout. That bumps it up to 5 stars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karyn8sons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I have been making cake this way for a few years, except I add a can of ginger ale. You can use ginger ale for any flavor cake..carrot, white, chocolate...and it it crazy moist. Almost like a torte. Also add a scoop or two of sour cream to the batter, makes the cake so rich. Note: you will have to increase the baking time if you add an entire can of soda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I really wanted this to be great. I followed the recipe exactly and no one liked it. It was pretty dry and plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Wonderful cake. Very easy and moist. Will definitely make again. My kids loved it. Made Cake again 2/7/12 - Changed a few things. Added 2 Tablespoons sour cream and about 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips. Used a Yuengling Lager..Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
My kids and husband liked it, but I didn't. I followed the recipe exactly. If I do make it again, I will need to make a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was fantastic! I took some other's suggestions: I used yellow cake mix, lemon pudding, and Blue Moon wheat beer in the batter. The better the quality of beer, the better the taste. I took another reviewer's recipe for glaze (remaining 4 oz beer, 2 T. butter, 1 1/2 c. sugar and added the juice of half a lemon). When the cake came out, I poked holes with a skewer and poured half the hot glaze mixture over it. I let it rest 15 minutes, turned it out, and poured the remaining glaze over the top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
A very delicious and moist (lemon) cake. I used Duncan Hines yellow cake mix, added instant lemon pudding mix and the juice of half a lemon to the batter. For beer, I used a Sierra Nevada Torpedo, an IPA that goes well with lemon. The cake did not taste at all like beer, but was very light and moist. I made a glaze using the juice of a whole lemon, and about 1/4 cup of sugar, microwaved it until hot, and poured it on top of the cake after it cooled. The only slight complaint I had was that it was fairly sweet due to the pudding and cake mix - but overall, still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States