Beer Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I used olive oil in place of vegetable oil and substituted sparkling apple cider in place of beer for a bit more flavor. This was a huge success and everyone raved about it. Topped with some vanilla icing, the cake turned out wonderfully moist and flavorful. ALTITUDE NOTE: We live at 6,000 ft so I increased the amount of cider by 2 tbsp., which was the perfect amount for our dry, thin air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I made this cake for the first time on Sunday. It was wonderful! I made it for a bunch of guys at a car dealership (so I'm not sure if they loved just just because it had beer in it, or if it was truly delicious), but it was very moist. I threw a hand-full of dark chocolate and white chocolate chips into the batter. I also iced it all over, not just a drizzle - that way when I sliced it, every piece had a good amount of icing on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I made this cake for the first time yesterday and it was amazing. I was worried it would taste to beery but the cake was eaten quickly. I did use the syrup described in one of the other reviews and poured it on the cake before removing it from the pan. I also heated up and poured Pilsberry cream cheese frosting on top. Very good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
The cake turned out really moist.... The only thing I did different was followed the instructions on the box, with the filling, and using Guiness Beer instead of water. Easy to make and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I made this with dark choc cake mix, choc pudding mix, and a chocolate stout (beer). The batter was really thick, but it baked up really light. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was awesome. Very easy to make and super moist. When I told my daughter I made a beer cake... she was hesitant, but when she tried it, she kept picking on it all day long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I tried this recipe using a devil's food cake mix, didn't add the pudding (I didn't have any) and used Guinness Stout Beer. I iced it with a chocolate buttercream frosting from this site. I brought it to a Bday BBQ, and everyone liked this cake more than the one they bought for the birthday. There wasn't any left to bring home! Next time I will try it with the pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dana
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
It was okay. My husband liked it. You should specify what type of Beer you used. We live in Germany so I used a German beer. Not sure if that was why I didn't like it. I'm not a beer fan to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Pretty good! I used 2 (1.34 oz) boxes of sugar-free french vanilla instant pudding, bud light & added 3 Tbsp lemon juice (which I couldn't taste at all) and dusted it with powdered sugar. It had a wonderful texture but did not rise very much. My husband and the kids loved it! UPDATE: I made with 3 (1oz) boxes sugar-free pudding (2 lemon & 1 vanilla). I also added 1 Tbsp lemon extract to the batter which resulted in only a slight lemon flavor. The cake is very moist & soft & the crumb turns out different from a plain boxed cake. I always ONLY BAKE 45 MINUTES. I think it would be dry if I baked any longer. It's an easy way to put a little twist on a box cake mix! Next time I'll try chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
very moist and yummy! i used a cake mix with pudding and then added the box of pudding! soooo sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States