Beer Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was fantastic! I took some other's suggestions: I used yellow cake mix, lemon pudding, and Blue Moon wheat beer in the batter. The better the quality of beer, the better the taste. I took another reviewer's recipe for glaze (remaining 4 oz beer, 2 T. butter, 1 1/2 c. sugar and added the juice of half a lemon). When the cake came out, I poked holes with a skewer and poured half the hot glaze mixture over it. I let it rest 15 minutes, turned it out, and poured the remaining glaze over the top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
A very delicious and moist (lemon) cake. I used Duncan Hines yellow cake mix, added instant lemon pudding mix and the juice of half a lemon to the batter. For beer, I used a Sierra Nevada Torpedo, an IPA that goes well with lemon. The cake did not taste at all like beer, but was very light and moist. I made a glaze using the juice of a whole lemon, and about 1/4 cup of sugar, microwaved it until hot, and poured it on top of the cake after it cooled. The only slight complaint I had was that it was fairly sweet due to the pudding and cake mix - but overall, still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I used olive oil in place of vegetable oil and substituted sparkling apple cider in place of beer for a bit more flavor. This was a huge success and everyone raved about it. Topped with some vanilla icing, the cake turned out wonderfully moist and flavorful. ALTITUDE NOTE: We live at 6,000 ft so I increased the amount of cider by 2 tbsp., which was the perfect amount for our dry, thin air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I made this cake for the first time on Sunday. It was wonderful! I made it for a bunch of guys at a car dealership (so I'm not sure if they loved just just because it had beer in it, or if it was truly delicious), but it was very moist. I threw a hand-full of dark chocolate and white chocolate chips into the batter. I also iced it all over, not just a drizzle - that way when I sliced it, every piece had a good amount of icing on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I made this cake for the first time yesterday and it was amazing. I was worried it would taste to beery but the cake was eaten quickly. I did use the syrup described in one of the other reviews and poured it on the cake before removing it from the pan. I also heated up and poured Pilsberry cream cheese frosting on top. Very good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
The cake turned out really moist.... The only thing I did different was followed the instructions on the box, with the filling, and using Guiness Beer instead of water. Easy to make and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I made this with dark choc cake mix, choc pudding mix, and a chocolate stout (beer). The batter was really thick, but it baked up really light. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was awesome. Very easy to make and super moist. When I told my daughter I made a beer cake... she was hesitant, but when she tried it, she kept picking on it all day long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I tried this recipe using a devil's food cake mix, didn't add the pudding (I didn't have any) and used Guinness Stout Beer. I iced it with a chocolate buttercream frosting from this site. I brought it to a Bday BBQ, and everyone liked this cake more than the one they bought for the birthday. There wasn't any left to bring home! Next time I will try it with the pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dana
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
It was okay. My husband liked it. You should specify what type of Beer you used. We live in Germany so I used a German beer. Not sure if that was why I didn't like it. I'm not a beer fan to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States