Beer Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This recipe is a hit! I took Golden Beer (very mild German Beer) and it was fantasticly fluffy! I made muffins in the microwave for 1 1/2 mins. at 850 watts and it turned out wonderful. The main batter was in the oven and similar tasteful but not that quick ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made this for my son's 20th Birthday! It was a big hit and he is not a real cake fan! I used Yuengling beer & a cream cheese frosting also on this site drizzeled on top. It would be good without any frosting. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I love this recipe, so yummy & easy. I took this cake to work for a tailgate party (what’s a tailgate party without beer,lol) and it was gobbled up. I used butterscotch pudding that I had on hand and took REGINA73 suggestion of making the glaze, 1 1/3 cups sugar, rest of beer & 2 tbs butter then boil, when cake came out of oven let rest about 5 min then poked holes and poured glaze over cake, let it sit in pan for about 15 min, then turned it out, let it cool and drizzled a glaze (powered sugar and milk) over the cake, very moist & good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vavseba

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe is sooo versatile! I made it with pumpkin spice pudding and cranberry lambic beer, both of which are in season right now in New Hampshire. I also tossed in a cup of chopped frozen cranberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I made 2 of these using 2 kinds of beer and served them at a party for 20 people last week. One was a spice cake with regular American beer and the other was chocolate cake with a stout beer. There was not a crumb left and I was asked a dozen times for the recipe. At least 4 people told me they really don't enjoy cake much but this changed their mind. Guess us country folk enjoy this type of cake more then some others do. But I know I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is better (my personal opinion) with devils food cake, dark chocolate pudding and guinness extra stout. That bumps it up to 5 stars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karyn8sons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I have been making cake this way for a few years, except I add a can of ginger ale. You can use ginger ale for any flavor cake..carrot, white, chocolate...and it it crazy moist. Almost like a torte. Also add a scoop or two of sour cream to the batter, makes the cake so rich. Note: you will have to increase the baking time if you add an entire can of soda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I really wanted this to be great. I followed the recipe exactly and no one liked it. It was pretty dry and plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Wonderful cake. Very easy and moist. Will definitely make again. My kids loved it. Made Cake again 2/7/12 - Changed a few things. Added 2 Tablespoons sour cream and about 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips. Used a Yuengling Lager..Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Dye Carson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
My kids and husband liked it, but I didn't. I followed the recipe exactly. If I do make it again, I will need to make a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States