Beer Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I am in college and made this cake for a bunch of boys, they ate it ALL in one sitting! My roommate who is a chef told me I HAD to make it again because it was so great! I was surprised, haha. I did it a little differently than the recipe, and I made a Kahlua frosting that I DEFINITELY recommend, it was a perfect pairing with this cake! I made the cake according to the directions on the box, adding to the mixture french vanilla pudding mix and a cup of beer. While the cake was out of the oven and cooling I blended about 3 cups of powdered sugar with 1/3 cup of butter and maybe half a cup of Kahlua. I also added a few tablespoons of heavy whipping cream, it made the frosting fluffier! Then I just layered it on the cake thick. TRY THIS im serious it was so good and such a success
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made this cake for Christmas and was a hit. I made it with a glaze over the top as someone else suggested and it made it very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
If I could give this more than 5 stars I would. This is absolutely the moistest cake I have ever ever made. UNBELIEVABLE. I can't figure out how the beer does this but you need to try this to see how incredibly moist and delicious it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Good cake but most definately not as great as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I literally made this less than two hours ago, took it to my husband's work to try on people, and he MADE me bring it back. Only because he loved it and everyone else, so it is already almost gone. I followed the recipe like Regina73 suggested. Good, but I'm gonna try to find some sort of not-as-sweet icing that's a little thicker over the top of the cake. The cake was too sweet for me, so I could only handle a little of it. Still I bought a whole 6-pack of beer just to make this again (hopefully will help satiate my husband's sweet tooth!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Just made this cake for company. It was good and it was moist, but ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
The beer ingredient sounded strange, but I wanted a quick recipe for dessert and happened to have a can of beer in the fridge. Am I glad I found this recipe! I used a white cake mix. And because my 4 eggs were extra large, I added about 1/3 cup of flour and a bit of extra beer to the whole mix. Sprinkled the cooled cake with some powdered sugar -- what a wonderful and light treat. So moist!! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I used this receipe but I used root beer soda instead of the beer! It was a great hit and I made a glaze with rootbeer and confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Try using New Belgium 1554 which has a chocolaty flavor to it. You can also make a glaze with it to drizzle if you want more of the beers rich, flavor. Sunshine Wheat with grated orange zest is also another option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I was very pleasantly surprised by how good this cake turned out to be. I made a glaze out of beer, powdered sugar and a bit of butter and it was delicious poured over the cake. Also, this cake gets better as it sits. Yesterday I made another, this time with chocolate fudge cake mix and chocolate fudge pudding with almost as good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAT772

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States