Beer Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This cake was just okay. I thought it had kind of a funny taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Holy Guacamole! This cake was awesome! I cooked according to recipe, but used Stout beer. I also added the glaze as suggested in earler reviews. The result was a moist, beery, and totally awesome cake. I will add this to my collection, for sure. There are lots of great ways to change & vary this recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Sorry we found this to be just average.Not terrible but nothing special. It basically tasted like yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I really like this easy recipe. I threw it together tonight because I needed an easy dessert for my husband and his friend with stuff I already had in my pantry. I baked it in an 8x8 pan (because I don't have a bundt pan) for about 35 minutes at 350. I had to cover the top with foil after about 20 minutes to keep it from getting too browned. I served it warm with fresh cut up strawberries and a dusting of powdered sugar. My hubby and his friend each ate 2 pieces! Definite winner and will try it again. Oh and the beer flavor was very mild and tasty! I used coors light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tierncooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This turned out well. I added a chocolate stout as the beer and it added a rich flavor. To top it I made a glaze of sugar, combined with beer and drizzled it over the top. Once it hardened it created a nice texture and was a hit with my beer brewing-uncle whom I made it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bbrown

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This recipe is great. The beer does give a slight banana-like taste, but it's great. I used 2 nine inch round pans and put it in for about 35 minutes. Be careful not to overfill the pans as it tends to get soggy in the middle if you do. I used a dark chocolate buttercream which was amazing with the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Meh. Tastes like yellow cake to me, nothing exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HHGLINSKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Made these in cupcakes with a beer glaze, took them to a beer bash and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Always a Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I was surprised with how moist this was! I used non stick cooking spray and floured the pan but the cake still stuck a little bit. I topped it with the Vanilla Glaze that I found on this website. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateskitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States