Beer Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I got very good reviews on this recipe-everyone enjoyed it. I was asked to make this one again. I used Fosters beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I had a bottle of Corona in the fridge for past several months and decided to try this. I used a classic white Pillsbury mix and white chocolate instant pudding (only combo I had on hand I thought would work). It beats up nicely, a very thick batter. I was concerned because I licked the beater and it left a tart burning sensation in my mouth for about 3 hours. The few crumbs I tasted did leave a bit of that same aftertaste but by today the flavors had mellowed. I had leftover "Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting" from this site(really super!) so frosted the bundt cake with that and made a white confectioner's glaze with sherry to drizzle. Looked very pretty and the glaze added a nice touch. Everyone raved. Ease of preparation, super moist, and very sturdy cake to remove from bundt pan give this a '4'. Also a conversation piece dessert. Folks got a kick out of the beer as an ingredient. I would definitely make again if I had an extra bottle of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
A pretty tasty little cake, and fun to tell your friends you baked with beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Breda, Iowa, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Excellent! I served this with a spoonful of dream whip and swizzled chocolate syrup on the dessert and the plate and my friends and husband were very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
It was very moist, but had a strange bitter after-taste. Neither my husband or I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNSTODD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Harker Heights, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I have made this cake several times and everyone always loves it. I like to drizzle a dark chocolate glaze on it. I usually use cheap beer and it doesn't have a strong aftertaste it actually tastes more like bananas. It makes a good birthday cake for adults. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SILENTMOONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
First, I have to say that I followed the recipe to a tee. However... I kept checking the cake and knew that bunt pans can cause the exterior to get brown while the inside is still getting done. I kept telling myself that with this one. I finally took it out at only 46 mins (not 55) and it was BLACK!!! I double checked oven temp, and reread the recipe. It seemed I had done everything right. Ended up baking a mix cake right afterwards (was preparing for hubby's suprise party) and it went right by the time on the box. Not sure what happened, but be very careful on how long you cook this one! The inside tasted great! ; (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
this cake is so exceptional for such an easy recipe. I've made it everytime for birthdays and always get rave reviews. too bad it's not my own recipe!! I usually use Newcastle for the beer, it has a really great flavor unlike coors or budlight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
Not bad but basically a yellow cake with a beer aftertaste. Fun concept but other bundt cakes on the website are tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
My daughter just made this cake for a friends birthday and WOW! It was a huge hit. She used store bought cream cheese frosting. Everyone loved it! She used a Bud Lite and it had absolutly no beer taste at all. So moist and tasty. I am sending the recipe onto all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States