Beer Butt Rosemary Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I love this recipe and have used it for many years! One of the things I do differently is I use 1/2 a can of beer and supplement the other half of the can with BBQ sauce. After washing the chicken, I spray the skin with Pam cooking spray and then sprinkle a mesquite seasoning rub from Costco on it. The skin comes out crispy and very yummy. The mesquite rub is a fantastic compliment to the beer/BBQ mix. I highly recommend buying the stand for the can so it doesn't fall over. I used a small baking dish that just fits the stand but is relatively tall, so that juices don't leak and make a mess in the over. Lining the baking dish with foil makes clean up easier as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica3639

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
The engineering of this was a disaster! The chicken wouldn't stand up with the beer inside, it kept tipping over. And even when it did stay up, the orange slices, rosemary, and onion slipped out from under the skin. And what's the point of seasoning the outside of the chicken then pouring the broth over it??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was good but I improved on the recipe a little. One thing I think it needed was a good brine before cooking. Also I find the insertions beneath the breast to be unnecessary if the cavity is properly closed. Use butchers twine to hold the wings behind the bird to prevent burning. I also start the oven at 500F on broil to quickly sear the birds skin shut then reduce the heat to 350 until thoroughly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I put this chicken together as listed, but changed the cooking method. We were having a lot of people for dinner, so I made one standing beer butt chicken and a pan full of “parts” chicken with all the listed ingredients. We put in a smoker for 5 hours and finished it on the gas grill to achieve the nice browning effect. I liked the very hint taste that the orange provided in this chicken. It was so tender and full of flavor. This will be a good recipe to make in the winter when it is too cold to smoke or grill. The potatoes had so many flavors with this cooking method. I served this with ‘Grilled Zucchini II’ from AR. Nice recipe Debbie, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
My first attempt at beer can chicken - used beer, followed recipe exactly. Took about 2 hours to cook through - served up beautifully and was delicious! The citris flavor was light and just right, love the rosemary flavor as well! Not something I'd make every weekend but definitely would do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Potatoes were AMAZING! Chicken was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I love this recipe and am making it right now. However I didn't know there were racks for holding the chicken/beer. I haven't had any problems without it but I am going to look for one to be safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Watt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingsland, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I've made this several times and it's always excellent. I make this when I have company. Two or three of these on the table? WOW!!!! Makes a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Very good chicken! Very juicy. I added carrots and onion quarters to the bottom of the pan with the red potatoes and they all turned out well. After the chicken was picked and the veggies were taken out of the broth I put the carcass and broth into a crock pot with water to make fanstastic chicken stock for another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Great, easy recipe that makes you look like you cook like a pro. I've made it as written several times. The only thing I add is my seasonings which include poultry seasoning, sazon, sea salt and pepper. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States