Beer Butt Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I have made a version of this recipe for several years and have some suggestions, mix 6 tablespoons McCormick Ckicken seasoning with 1 tablespoon garlic powder, onion powder, black pepper, Accent (optional) and 1/2 teaspoon Cayenne pepper. Loosen skin and spread 1/2 of mixture under skin, dont miss the legs, rub remaining mixture on outside of chicken. Let sit in fridge overnight. Use a 16 oz. can of beer so that a couple of inches stick out the bottom to grab with the tongs after cooking, very important, spray the can with Pam to make removal much easier. put a tablespoon of garlic and onion powder in beer to season. Fill smoker box with hickory chips and cook chicken at 350 for 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 hours for 5 lb. bird. Skin will be a deep mahogany and it will taste fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Gotta love this recipe. I have made this quite a few times on the grill AND in the oven (350 degress for about 1 1/2 hours). There are stands "chickcan rack" on the market that make this quite easy too. I add a "montreal chicken blend" to the recipe and a small potato or onion in the neck cavity to hold in the vapors. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
778 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
MAAAVELOUS DAHLING!!! Make SURE you don't overcook this baby (devastating!!!) Guaranteed to be the most delicious chicken you've ever tasted! Also most of the fun of this is DRINKING HALF THE BEER!!! (Discard???--whatever there, chief!) No grill?--bakes easily at 350 for about 15 minutes per pound--if ya lather the ole' girl up with dijon and honey as one member recommended it's even better (if that's possible?) OH YEAH--forget that flimsy foil cookie sheet--basic physics here folks...just doesn't have the tensile strength to handle a 7lb. roaster carried from the counter to the oven or grill--especially when precariously perched on top of a partial can o' brew! Regarding that--you can position the legs forward in tripod formation for better balance. Use a glass baking dish--a bit more cleanup but you won't look like the village idiot when you have to lift it! Try this recipe with any fowl--you'll be glad you did!!! (Use fruit preserves of choice on the outside of a duck--yeah baby!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
609 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
The first time I tried this - I did it on the grill. I have a very small grill and did not realize it should be covered. I could not do it on my grill because I could not close the lid - The chicken was too tall and well it never cooked. Now I make Beer Butt Chicken in the oven. I put it in my roasing pan, Bake it for 1 1/2 - 2 hours at 350 (don't need to cover it) lol. I also Put in some Potatoes (huge bakers) at the same time (Not in the roasting pan - on the oven rack). I use a funnel to add the butter and spices to the beer in the can. It is better to use warm beer - because when adding melted butter to cold beer it foams up. I bought the can holder for beer butt chicken - It makes it stand up alot easier and stays in place when you Take it out to transport it to the cutting board. YUMM !!! The chicken is browned to perfection and So tender the meat just falls off the bone. It is Awesome!!!! Thankyou so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Ok! Here's the trick to getting the can off/out of the bird. Spray the beer can top and sides (Not bottom) with non-stick cooking spray before placing the chicken on it. The can simply slides right off! :-) Love the recipe! We always add more spice, and you can also maranade the chicken in a bag beforehand insted of th rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Beek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This is one fantastic chicken recipe... it comes out extremely moist and flavorful. Have done this recipe many different ways. You can use half a can of ginger ale if you're out of beer. I usually add some BBQ sauce to the half can of liquid, and rub spices (garlic powder, paprika, cayenne pepper, salt) into the bird. Have made it on the grill but I really think the oven is easier. Just set the chicken in a 13x9 pan and bake in a 350 oven for about 1hr 30min. Comes out delicious every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I have made this a number of times over the years and this is my favorite way to prepare grilled chicken. Few words of advice: invest in a beer butt chicken holder (makes it much more stable and less likely to tip off making a huge mess), spray the can and/or holder with non-stick spray for easy removal, put a drip pan under the chicken to avoid nasty flare-ups. For best flavor, rub the chicken with the seasonings the night before and let rest in the fridge. I have also done this with a brined chicken which is extremely juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This is incredible! My 18" Weber was too small, so I cooked it indoors at 350 for about 1-1 1/2 hours. Also, I didn't have beer handy, so I used an empty Coke can that I filled half-way up with some wine & threw some garlic and basil leaves into the mix. This is the best chicken ever - with the upright posture, the fat drains off and if you line the roasting pan with foil, cleanup is so easy. This is how we're making chicken from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
We've been doing this method for a while on a gas grill -and with superb results each time. We have tried garlic and herb spices, lemon pepper, BBQ, blackening seasoning, you name it we've tried it. Don't worry - beer isn't needed really. ANY liquid works and same goes for your taste of seasonings. Recently I tried using hickory chips to smoke the chicken. It was simply awesome. If you want a world class meal, and one which will impress friends and family this is it. It's EASY and AWESOME. Best of all it's delicious, and healthy! ***PERSONAL NOTE - the chicken thigh should be at 170 degrees when it's done...never hurts to rely on a visual check of the juices, but temperature is important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
This chicken is awesome! Next time, I will rub the spices in and marinate in a zip-lock bag overnight. I used a gas grill with both burners on low heat (with the lid closed) and basted it a few times. Used a disposable roasting pan with a cookie sheet underneath because I was cooking 2 chickens. When I tasted the wonderful drippings collecting in the pan, I decided to throw in sliced onions and potatoes. Amazing flavor! In my family, I've never seen an entire chicken get eaten with no leftovers. Even the wings were crispy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 699) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States