Beer Butt Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Loved this chicken. Moist, flavorful, EASY! I used only half the called for butter. You should be aware that when adding the melted butter and spices to the can, the beer tends to foam out of the can. To keep flare-ups down, reduce the amount of time I had to spend watching the chicken so it didn't catch fire from the flare-ups and to ease grill clean-up, I put a piece of heavy duty foil under the can holder I have. Worked perfectly. Chicken skin crisped nicely, while remaining uncharred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
This came out awesome. The meat was very tender and moist. I cooked it in the oven; it was hard to get it to stand and it actually tipped over at one point. Fortunately, it was in a pan so there wan't a huge mess. Also, I was using a frozen roaster chicken. I let it thaw in the fridge for 3 days and it was still partially frozen, so give it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
cut butter to 1/2 cup...still PLENTY. did in the oven at 350 degrees F. for 1 1/2 hours. was very good...very moist. will absolutely make a again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
We loved this chicken! I think you really can play with the spices you use. I used garlic, onion powder, cayenne, old bay seasoning, thyme, sage and I didn't use the whole cup of butter(1/2 cup) and it still came out Amazing! I really think it helped the flavor by rubbing the chicken with the spices and letting it marinade overnight. I rubbed the spices underneath the skin and on top of the skin. I cooked the chicken in the oven @ 350 for 1 1/2 hours and put some chicken broth, beer and water in the pan the chicken sat in. The drippings made a wonderful gravy! My husband woke up this morning thinking about the chicken we had for dinner the night before :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillmuffin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
EXCELLENT!! period =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catcassetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
yum, yum and yum. we actually added more butter, paprika, garlic salt and some cayanne pepper for the basting throughout the cooking process. very easy and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yelsi
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
It was my first time making beer butt chicken and the recipe was great. :) Juicy meat on the inside and on the outside it was all crunchy and yummy! One of my favorites that I've made. Simple and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
it looked funny putting it in the oven but it had to be the best chicken i have ever made and ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
we have been making a version of this for years.use the rack from bayou classic. if cooking outdoors, put it in a dutch oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
i didnt car for the beer taste... its really a preferred taste. My DH liked it but I wont be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 706) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States