Beer Butt Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Wow! I am new to cooking and tried this. Read the reviews and took some suggestions. #1 make sure your grill is big enough to stand up a chicken. We ended up making it in the oven. 350 as suggested by another reviewer. I coated the outside with the seasoning before cooking, added to the beer (used the Pam trick on the outside of the can) and Basted maybe 2x. Outside was crispy, inside was moist. It is a definite have again at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I bought one of those stands that hold the beer can and it works well. Just to be on the safe side I found a small glass jar that fits where the beer can rests, the reason why is the aluminum can has paint on the outside and the inside from what I understand is coated with a plastic and its possible the heat might create a small reaction and impart something toxic. I know this sounds like a bit of a stretch but I read this info from a gentleman familiar with the beverage business and he warned people to take this into consideration, makes sense to me. Adios n' Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LD Meyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Delicious, moist , savory chicken recipe. I did use Pepsi rather than beer butt it worked fine and tasted delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Good ..... but not Boston Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
omg!! this is sooooo yummy!!! The chicken is super moist and has great flavor! I cooked it on the BBQ and it took about an hour and a half. This is a definate family favorite!!! My picky kids ate it all and asked for more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Delicious! This is one we do on the regular but we usually put different spices on it. Tried it this way this time. It was delicious. Loved all the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This is a fab method for roasted chicken. I upped the seasoning big time and stuffed the neck of the bird with a head of garlic. Two hours was just perfect on an indirect grill heat. Forgot to grease the beer can, but it still slid out easily with the help of some tongs. Very yummy and now a regular on our table :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
This was alright. Both my hubs and I agree that with a bit of tweaking, this has great potential (at least for us). Although SUPER moist, the meat itself had very little flavor. All of the seasoning is in the skin (duh). I don't care for the skin so this was a real let down for me. :( I think rubbing the butter / herb mixture UNDER the skin would help impart much needed flavor. I will definitely make this change next time around. NOTE: It is not necessary to grease your can of beer. While this may make removal a *tad* easier, it isn't a must. I am happy to report that my hubs and I easily removed our bird from our 12 oz. can of Busch beer with no spillage, burning or heartache! If you can find one, use a stand made specifically for this purpose (it will make your life MUCH easier!). I picked up a beer can chicken stand at my local grocer for a mere $5.00. Grilled corn on the cob and baked potatoes rounded out our easy, summer meal. Thanks for sharing your unique and unorthodox method for preparing chicken, Barrie! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Loved this recipe! The chicken came out moist and flavorful, it was falling off the bone. I made it as is and it was great, but now I want to mess around with the ingredients and maybe add some rosemary of some thyme to the seasoning. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Delicious!! I made this on the grill & followed the recipe pretty closely. The only thing was that I decided to check it at 1.5 hours & it was already done & slightly overcooked. Next time we'll know to check it earlier. But it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 706) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States