Beer Butt Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is an awesome recipe, I have always prepared it as it is with the exception of adding an onion to the neck. This last time I cooked it I added 2 Tablespoons chili powder with the other spices and butter. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mxmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gridley, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I just made this tonight on my grill and it was pretty good. I cooked it on Low (300) for 2.5 hrs. I didnt use butter to lower the fat content and subed olive oil. I mixed 1 tbsp of garlic powder, onion powder, pepper and 1 tsp salt. Rubbed it under the skin of the chicken (realized tonight to focus on the under side of the chicken where all the meat is..) this was noticed with a lack of flavor. I then rubbed 1/4 cup olive oil and 1 tbsp lemon pepper over the chicken and let it rest in the fridge for a few hours. Then added the spices to 1/2 the can of beer and roastd. Overall taste was moist and delish, but could use a little more seasonings. So DONT be afraid to season the heck outt of your bird.....!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was fabulous! Just the aroma while it was cooking had us salivating. The tip others have noted regarding spraying the tops of the cans with cooking spray was very much appreciated. I combined several of the seasoning suggestions from other reviewers, but I don't think you can go wrong improvising with your favorite seasonings. My sons love the slightly naughty recipe name - it's a "guy" thing, I guess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
the chicken was soooo moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
NEVER discard the beer... drink it :) use darker beer (stout). shove an apple in the neck to hold in all the evaporated beer. awesome, awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kennyv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Haskell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This is so good and pretty easy and cheap too. I use smaller chickens and bake them in the oven. I son't always use butter and it's still just as good. I use sea salt and have used pabst and even miller lite and it's been perfect each time. Another review said to stuff the neck cavity with foil so the moisture wouln't escape and I always do that. I used a potato once too and that worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blythe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Excelleny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Very tender, but not a crazy amount of flavour even though I heavily buttered and seasoned under the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle
Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coaldale, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
So delicious and so moist! I baked at 380 (that is my oven's temp for 350) for about an 1 hour and 20 minutes and it was PERFECT! I lifted the skin off the chicken with the end of a butter knife and put soft butter and herbs between the skin and meat and then rubbed it all on the outside of the skin. It truly couldn't have been better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I liked this the only problem I had was burnt chicken butts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 708) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States