Beer Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This was ok. I definitely added garlic powder to the bread since other reviews noted it as being bland. It tastes like a big biscuit but with a weird texture. Sorry not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I don't know what went wrong with this recipe. I made it to the exact directions and it wasn't quite right. I had to bake my bread for almost an hour and a half in order for it to be fully cooked, and then it was still a little gooey in the middle. If I make this again I think I might need to increase the flour a tad and decrease the butter to only 2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I modified the recipe too after reading the reviews. I decreased the butter to 4 tbsps so the bread did not come out greasy at all. But it was very crumbly and dry. It only rose a little and it was very dense packed. I think maybe it needed more liquid?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
We liked this bread A LOT! I read through the reviews and decided to make a few small changes. I added 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder and 1/2 teaspoon of dried dill to the mix and increased the cheese to 1 cup. I decreased the melted butter to about 3 tablespoons and stirred in about 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder before pouring over the bread (it did not come out greasy at all). This sort of reminded me of a biscuit, but it was much more moist. It baked up beautiful and sliced great too! Once fall/winter comes, I will definately be serving this bread with a nice big hearty bowl of chili! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
all I can really say is this was ok. my husband was really not a fan, and neither were my kids. the peppers were different, but not wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This bread is so good and so easy!!! I just used cheddar cheese no peppers and it was wonderful!! We had it with creamy chicken and wild rice soup from this site. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
My family absolutely loves this recipe contrary to some of the other reviews. We always make it with Corona beer and it compares to Tastefully Simple's mix. All of my friends love this one too. And one bag of self rising flour will make 6 loaves of this wonderful bread. Leftover bread can also be cut into cubes to make bread crumbs- just spray with butter and sprinkle with your favorite season and bake for about 20 minutes at 350!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Tasty! I don't recall ever having beer bread before but I liked it. I didn't put in the peppers and added Italian spices to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Easy to do and very flavorful. Husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Could be a bit more flavorful, but baked up nicely at high altitude (p.s. I used an entire can (4 oz.) of green chilies)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States