Beer Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I've attempted several yeasts breads over the past year with moderate success but I'm not a very patient person so this bread was perfect for a cook like me. I love the texture of this bread as well and will, for sure, make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This bread is quick and easy. I used a traditional beer bread pottery bowl. I used Yuengling beer and added a pinch of oregano and garlic powder. Tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
My husband and I thought this was great. I did not have green chile peppers on hand. So, I substituted 1/4 cup canned chipotle chiles in adobe sauce, chopped. Also, I only had a reduced fat cheddar cheese on on hand. I used 1 cup of it. I did reduce the butter to 5 T because of other posts. We thought the butter was great - kind of butters the bread from the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I didn't have self-rising flour, so I added 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder and 1/2 tsp. salt for each cup of flour. I also spread the batter between two 9x5 loaf pans, and spooned three TBLS of butter on each loaf. I also didn't add the chili peppers and it's still very flavorful. Having it with chili. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
At the last minute I wanted to make bread for a cookout. I didnt want to bust out my bread maker so I thought hmmm I wonder if I can make bread from bisquick. I poked around on the internet. Walah! I made this with 2.5 cups of bisquick, colby jack cheese, 3 VERY HOT fresh jalapenos, coors light, garlic powder, salt, pepper, sugar. I baked this in my cast iron skillet and I was really suprised how good it was. I had a little trouble with it setting in the middle but after it cooled it seemed to get better. I'll leave off the butter next time, the cheese had enough grease to keep the bread moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is the ONLY beer bread recipe you should consider! This is AMAZING. I use jalepenos rather than chilies, but same principle. Other than that, follow the recipe. Don't try muffins, either - it's just messy. You'll regret passing this recipe over - trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Awesome! so quick and easy to put together, too. I substituted sundried tomatoes for the chilies, just because we don't like them. Also used a medium light microbrew. Fantastic recipe! Thanks, Judi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Loved this.. will make it again. I put more cheese in it and put the extra butter over the top didn't need anything. Just slice and eat. Try Beer cheese with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Excellent and deliciuos!! Simple and faqst!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This recipe is awesome! It's almost much faster and easier than my usual beer bread recipe, and eliminates the hassles of yeast and the bread maker. The beer definately matters. I made 3 loaves. One with Coors Lite, one with Guinness, and one with MGD. MGD was the best. The loaf had a strong yeasty flavor and beer smell with no bitter after taste. The one with Coors Lite was very bland and biscuit-like. The cheese was the dominant flavor rather than the beer. The Guinness loaf came out kind of packy in texture and had a VERY bitter after taste. The chillies add color, but I didn't taste them at all in any of the 3 loaves. I may try adding some sorrano or jalapenos next time for more heat. Also need to reduce the butter topping to about 5 TBSP for my 90% humidity conditions. Quite a bit was left in the bottom of the pan of all 3 loaves after browning, which made the bottoms kind of greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frozen Fig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States