Beer Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I love beer bread and make it all the time. However this is the first time I have added the cheese and chilies. They were great and added a little extra kick. Next time I think I will add a little extra cheese though. I didn't think there was enough. Oh, and a warning - The type of beer you use really makes a difference. I have used a lot of types. Corona does not work well. This is what I used this time and it really had no flavor. Hard cider is my favorite, it gives your bread a slight fruity taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I am eating my first beer bread as I am writing this review and I will say it is wonderful. I tasted the Tastefully Simple recipe for the first time yesterday which was just plain, but very good, and so delighted when I found the recipe here. I am fond of cheese and had several varieties at home already so I used a cup of a combination of grated fresh mozzarella, asiago, and parmesan. I added chopped green olives and pimentos and used Kirin beer. It turned out so tasty it did not really need dip even, which is what I was making it for. TS onion onion) I used the recommended size loaf pan and had butter overflow (I only used 3T)so do use a cookie sheet underneath to keep it from sizzling on the bottom of your oven. The hard crispy top was so good, I will use a reviewer's tip next time to bake in a 13x9 pan to get more crunchy topping! I am sure this would be great with other variations. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I made my own self rising flour and I increased the cheddar cheese to a full cup. I made no other changes. This turned out fantastically. I have to admit that I was worried about the bread turning out badly because it seemed to be floating in butter but as it was baking, it soaked up the butter and made this wonderful crust. It's VERY good. Not something I'd make every day but a wonderful occasional decadent treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I had never made "beer" bread before. This was very, very good. I used Miller Lite beer, extra sharp Cheddar cheese, and reduced the grease fix on the top to 2 Tbs. of unsalted butter and 2 Tbs. "ICBINB". Next time I would add more chile pepper, as they got lost. My only problem was that I only had an 8-1/2 by 4-1/2 inch glass loaf dish, and the fat fix on top of the bread rolled off onto the oven floor. Next time I would decrease the amount of batter by about 25% so that that won't happen again!!! YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
You can cut down on the amount of butter you pour over the top. It was a little greasy on the bottom, but the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I thought this was an excellent recipe. I made it last night for my girlfriend and she loved it. I left out the cheddar and chillies as I did not have them...instead, I added about a teaspoon of Oregano, a teaspoon of Basil and sprinkled some garlic powder in the dough. TWO THUMBS UP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
excellent and easy...very good for dips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
We liked this bread A LOT! I read through the reviews and decided to make a few small changes. I added 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder and 1/2 teaspoon of dried dill to the mix and increased the cheese to 1 cup. I decreased the melted butter to about 3 tablespoons and stirred in about 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder before pouring over the bread (it did not come out greasy at all). This sort of reminded me of a biscuit, but it was much more moist. It baked up beautiful and sliced great too! Once fall/winter comes, I will definately be serving this bread with a nice big hearty bowl of chili! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
Overall I thought this recipe was really good. I personally picked the peppers out of my slice, but everyone else I had over for dinner loved it... especially the kids. They got a kick out of being "adult" enough to have something with beer in it. ha ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
This bread is really easy to make and is very good when fresh and hot. Slice it thick. I also like it toasted with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States