Beer Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
We LOVE making this recipe. Here are my tips: I agree with using 1/3 cup sugar. The beer you choose makes a difference! I have tried the recipe with dark beers and light ones. In my opinion the bread with dark beer tastes much better. When I make it with Guinness it comes out brownish, very moist and smelling strongly of beer (this flavor is not for everyone). But when I made it with Heineken and Corona it came out light-colored, not as moist and did not have much of a smell. I sometimes divide the batter among smaller loaf tins or pans so I can get 4 small loaves out of it. I think it looks nicer as a small loaf and it helps with portion control (because once you cut into the loaf you will eat every last crumb of it!) Lastly, I bake mine for about 40 min max. My oven is new so that may have something to do with it. Good luck with the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This bread is awesome! I followed the recipe except I added 1 cup Mexican Blend Shredded Cheese to the flour mixture before adding the beer and then let it raise for about 30 minutes while I was preheating the oven. I took the advice of another reviewer and brushed the top of the bread (1/2 way through and once again after baking) with melted butter and sprinkled with garlic salt. Also, I didn't have self-rising flour, so I used 3 cups all-purpose flour minus 2 Tablespoons then added 4 1/2 teaspoons Baking Powder & 1 1/2 teaspoons Salt. BEST BEER BREAD EVER! Just a note - the first time I made this, I took another reviewer's suggestion and added 1/3 cup sugar, but I found it was way too sweet for my taste... if you're a fan of sweeter breads like Hawaiian bread, then you'd probably like the 1/3 cup of sugar, but if you're not looking for something quite so sweet, definitely stick with the 3 Tablespoons listed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and my family and I love it. I've since made it 4 times. I sliced it the next day and made ham, egg and cheese breakfast sandwiches and was told it was the best breakfast sandwich ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lampwick
Home Town: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I made it with the wrong type of beer but it was still pretty tasty and my family ate it up within a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spectralite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I am so happy I found this recipe! Never buying a box mix for beer bread again.. This is super easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmktreats

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
The best basic beer bread recipe there is... and simple too! It tastes exactly like the TS bread if you add about 3 T. melted butter to the top before cooking. I have also added some Italian seasonings to the butter. Wonderful. The possibilities for this basic recipe are endless. This recipe has been added to our "family favorites," and will be handed down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKIBEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This was really good. I brought it to a party, using the recipe with 1/3 cup of sugar instrad of 3 tablespoons. No one could tell that it was not tastefully simple beer bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
excellent and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Was so good and easy that I had to make it again! Note that it is isn't very good any more after a couple days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Just OK. Like a giant biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 652) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States