Beer Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Yes, this recipe is a MUST TRY. It is beyond simple, and even though I hate beer, I find this bread is fantastic. I used a can of bud light... A friend of mine said the cheaper the beer the better, lol... Who knows... I might experiment with a dark beer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Easiest... recipe... ever. To spice it up a bit I made one batch with honey butter on top and one batch with 1 tsp rosemary and 3/4 tsp garlic powder and about a handful of parmesean cheese with more cheese sprinkled on top. The tops become very, very crusty upon cooking. I let mine cool mostly and then put them in ziploc bags. This distributes moisture and makes them less crusty. Pro Tip: I made these in a muffin pan and they were great individual little loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I would definitely make this again. Used Miller Lite that was one week away from expiring. Didnt have self rising flour so I made my own by adding 1.5tsp baking powder and .5tsp salt for each cup of flour I used. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. There was plenty of flavor, texture was slightly crumbly but firm, and a great crusty crust! No specific negatives, but an overall of four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I like this because it leaves out the butter that clogs up other recipes....although butter tastes great, it doesn't fit my diet. I added three green onions, chopped. Sprinkled 1 T grated cheddar on top. Great with soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larkin Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made up up several mixes of this bread and gave them as gifts with cooking instructions and a can of beer. I weighed the flour on my food scale to make it go faster. According the flour nutrition label, 372 grams of flour is equal to 3 cups of flour. HOWEVER when I measured 3 cups of flour with a measuring cup and then weighed those 3 cups I found it to weigh almost 100 grams more. I attribute that to the flour getting packed in the measuring cup as I scoop it out of the bag. This discovery poses the question... is this recipe intended to use sifted flour (or weighed flour) or flour that was simply scooped out of the bag? I chose to use about 390 grams of flour per loaf mix and 1/3 cup sugar. I placed the mix in a quart size baggie then inside a lunch size paper bag. I attached a sticker label I created with the baking instructions and an expiration date based on the expiration date of the self-rising flour. I also included in the baking instructions to top bread with 3 tablespoons melted butter before baking. I made a sample loaf for me to try before I handed out my gifts and it was fabulous! This is a super cheap and easy recipe and makes great gifts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin McNeil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by FluffySama
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I had some time today, and some left over Guinness in the fridge, so I thought I'd make some beer bread. When it comes to ease, you can't bake any easier than this! I had the ingredients sifted and mixed together and then added in the Guinness and took all of 10 minutes to get some nice batter. I made some of the suggested changes and used 1/3 cup of sugar, and I made my own self-starting flour by adding a tsp powder and a half tsp salt for every cup of flour (so adding 3 tsp baking powder, 1.5tsp salt). I also let them sit while my oven preheated but there wasn't much rising (!!!). After about 50 minutes in the oven I melted some butter (half a stick) and then brushed it on the top and put the bread back in for another 5 minutes or so (I used different types of pans and wasn't keeping track of time at that point). I have a lot of trouble with mixing ingredients "until moist" (which is what you do with beer breads), so I figured I might have overmixed this when I let it sit to rise a bit and it didn't. In fact, it didn't even rise much in the oven D: That said, the crust is delightfully crunchy and the insides are SO SOFT and spongy, it's really wonderful. I'm pretty sure overmixing and splitting the batter to let it rise a bit caused my problems. Even so, good recipe! I'm planning on trying it again with 4loko (goodness help me). Definitely would recommend it to others looking for a hearty, savory bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I used a bottle of killians beer.Dark beer is the key here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken Vogel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I seem to be a failure at making bread with yeast, so this is my go-to bread. So easy and tasty! Its so easy to add other ingredients to change the taste of the bread (garlic and Italian seasoning, cheddar cheese and jalapenos, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Mance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Loved this. Crispy outside, moist inside. I used AP flour (added 1 tablespoon baking soda and 1-1/2 teaspoons sea salt) and 1/4 cup of sugar. I let the beer come to room temperature before using. I rubbed the top of the loaf with the end of a stick of butter as soon as I took it out of the oven. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Perfectly easy and delicious when served hot/warm with dill dip! This is the way I've always done Beer Bread and my whole family loves it! I was very glad to find such an easy recipe! I take it out of the oven, butter the top and immediately turn it out onto a platter, butter the remaining crust and break it up into bite size pieces. Then, dunk into dill dip and wow! Yum! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marti

Displaying results 51-60 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States