Beer Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This is my favorite go-to recipe for a quick bread, so simple I've even got it memorized and am asked for the recipe often. We even take it on vacation - I just mix the dry ingredients (using the tips for making homemade self-rising flour) in a gallon ziplock baggie, mark the temp & time to cook on the bag, then mix a bottle of beer right in the baggie, squeeze into a pan and bake. I've even made it without a loaf pan - the dough is thick enough you can make a mounded "artisanal" loaf right on a greased cookie sheet. If I have butter I put it on top - but just put a couple of pats right on top. Why dirty an extra dish to melt it when you're putting it in a hot oven? Thanks so much for the simple, wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
great easy recipe. My family enjoys eating it right out of the oven with some butter. If there is any left over (which is rare) we toast it with butter for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
5 stars as written. I wouldn't recommend a very dark beer for this recipe though. I did not have self rising flour the first time I made it and used the suggestions for substituting. It was not good. Very hard and dense bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Not quite like Tastefully simple. I followed the recipe exactly. I bake a lot, I thought this was kind of dry, but tasted okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Used 1/3 C of suger as recommended by other reviewers. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERARN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Interlachen, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Yes, this recipe is a MUST TRY. It is beyond simple, and even though I hate beer, I find this bread is fantastic. I used a can of bud light... A friend of mine said the cheaper the beer the better, lol... Who knows... I might experiment with a dark beer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Easiest... recipe... ever. To spice it up a bit I made one batch with honey butter on top and one batch with 1 tsp rosemary and 3/4 tsp garlic powder and about a handful of parmesean cheese with more cheese sprinkled on top. The tops become very, very crusty upon cooking. I let mine cool mostly and then put them in ziploc bags. This distributes moisture and makes them less crusty. Pro Tip: I made these in a muffin pan and they were great individual little loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I would definitely make this again. Used Miller Lite that was one week away from expiring. Didnt have self rising flour so I made my own by adding 1.5tsp baking powder and .5tsp salt for each cup of flour I used. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. There was plenty of flavor, texture was slightly crumbly but firm, and a great crusty crust! No specific negatives, but an overall of four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I like this because it leaves out the butter that clogs up other recipes....although butter tastes great, it doesn't fit my diet. I added three green onions, chopped. Sprinkled 1 T grated cheddar on top. Great with soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larkin Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made up up several mixes of this bread and gave them as gifts with cooking instructions and a can of beer. I weighed the flour on my food scale to make it go faster. According the flour nutrition label, 372 grams of flour is equal to 3 cups of flour. HOWEVER when I measured 3 cups of flour with a measuring cup and then weighed those 3 cups I found it to weigh almost 100 grams more. I attribute that to the flour getting packed in the measuring cup as I scoop it out of the bag. This discovery poses the question... is this recipe intended to use sifted flour (or weighed flour) or flour that was simply scooped out of the bag? I chose to use about 390 grams of flour per loaf mix and 1/3 cup sugar. I placed the mix in a quart size baggie then inside a lunch size paper bag. I attached a sticker label I created with the baking instructions and an expiration date based on the expiration date of the self-rising flour. I also included in the baking instructions to top bread with 3 tablespoons melted butter before baking. I made a sample loaf for me to try before I handed out my gifts and it was fabulous! This is a super cheap and easy recipe and makes great gifts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States