Beer Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I'm not sure if this is a fair rating. I'm not a beer drinker, I used a bottle of beer (Lagunitas) that my friend left at the house. It still had a beer taste and yet also bland at the same time. However this was really quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I just made this, after reading msny of the reviews: FANTASTIC! FLAWLESS!! The only modifacations I made, based on the reviewd i read, were to add 4 tbls sugar instead of three, and I plopped the dough into the middle of a 9x13 pan. I basted it with melted butter halfway through the 50 minutes, and again five minutes before taking it out of the oven, when i also sprinkled it with roughly grated fresh parmesan. It came out GORGEOUS, moist, perfect!! I used Hertog Jan for the beer and self-rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Tried this with pumpkin beer... very good. I am excited to try it with other flavors too... I didn't have the self rising flour but thanks to the other ratings, I was able to substitute. PS... makes awesome but crumbly ham sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Reeder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coudersport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This bread was not good for me.....I loved it so much that I eat an entire loaf!! I made 2 mini loafs, baked for 50 minutes and it was perfect. My diet can't take much of this awesome bread! Thanks for the Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This is my favorite go-to recipe for a quick bread, so simple I've even got it memorized and am asked for the recipe often. We even take it on vacation - I just mix the dry ingredients (using the tips for making homemade self-rising flour) in a gallon ziplock baggie, mark the temp & time to cook on the bag, then mix a bottle of beer right in the baggie, squeeze into a pan and bake. I've even made it without a loaf pan - the dough is thick enough you can make a mounded "artisanal" loaf right on a greased cookie sheet. If I have butter I put it on top - but just put a couple of pats right on top. Why dirty an extra dish to melt it when you're putting it in a hot oven? Thanks so much for the simple, wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
great easy recipe. My family enjoys eating it right out of the oven with some butter. If there is any left over (which is rare) we toast it with butter for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
5 stars as written. I wouldn't recommend a very dark beer for this recipe though. I did not have self rising flour the first time I made it and used the suggestions for substituting. It was not good. Very hard and dense bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Not quite like Tastefully simple. I followed the recipe exactly. I bake a lot, I thought this was kind of dry, but tasted okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Used 1/3 C of suger as recommended by other reviewers. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERARN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Interlachen, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Yes, this recipe is a MUST TRY. It is beyond simple, and even though I hate beer, I find this bread is fantastic. I used a can of bud light... A friend of mine said the cheaper the beer the better, lol... Who knows... I might experiment with a dark beer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 660) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States