Beer Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I've made this several times. I always add three tablespoons of gluten to help eliminate the crumbling. It's good plain, but I sometimes brush the top of the loaf with a couple tablespoons of melted butter and add a sprinkling of toasted onion flakes ($1 in a shaker from Rural King) or celery seeds. Sometimes I add 1/3 cup of old-fashioned oats and a couple tablespoons of ground flax seeds to the recipe. I let the loaf cool for just a few minutes and cover it (still in the pan) with foil to let the moisture soften the crust, or you can put it in a plastic bag while warm for the same reason. I usually use Killian's Irish Red beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
EASY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I have made this recipe for nearly 40 years, long before it was available in a box. It is very good, however not a match for the popular mix. I mix it in a bowl with a wooden spoon just until it is blended, but still lumpy, then pour into a greased pan. The butter can go on when it goes in the oven or about 10 minutes before it is done. I have stirred in bread mix add-ins or sprinkled garlic herb dip mix on over the butter 10 min. before done. I keep self rising flour on hand mainly for this. Great with chili or stews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
So easy!! I made this paired with hamburger helper and green bean casserole. I didn't have self-rising flour so I made my own adding salt and baking powder to all-purose flour as others had suggested. I melted 3 tbs. Blue Bonnet margarine and poured it over the top of the bread before baking. Blue Bonnet seems to me to bake as good as real butter and taste as good too in almost anything. This bread looks as good as it tastes. I plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
The whole family loved this simple to make bread. I especially love the crunchy crust. We also made it with whole white wheat flour and the kids still raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Have made this once and am making it again today. The family really enjoyed it and it so easy to make they will be enjoying it again and again. MariP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Easy to make! Great taste. Had a nice crisp/crunch to the top. I didn't have self-rising flour so I added salt and baking powder per guidelines I found online. Used Coors light and had a nice beer taste. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I'm so impatient when it comes to bread. This is perfect, no waiting , no kneading and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
super easy and delicious. Great with soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I made this recipe with Blue Moon Mountain Abbey Ale and it was delicious! I did make one change which was to place it on a sheet pan instead and cut it along the length. I am really happy with the results and plan to make it again with Billy's Chiles beer for a jalapeno cheese variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 654) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States