Beer Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Easy and delicious!!! I used a wheat berry beer, and it was a little too sweet, so next time I will adjust the sugar accordiningly. (Made for an awesome French toast, though!) Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Just made this tonight. I was trying to recreate Tastefully Simples Beer Bread. And after reading other reviews I increased the sugar to 1/3 cup. However, it just wasn't quite as sweet at TS. Close but no cigar. I will try it again and increase sugar a little more. It's still good, but doesn't taste quite right with TS spinach dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I got a box of Tastefully Simple's beer bread mix for Christmas and instantly fell in love with it, but was horrified to find out I'd have to go through a bunch of hooplah just to get another (expensive) box. Well thankfully this recipe was easy to find! It tastes exactly the same and never imagined making good bread would be so easy. I have a spoiled husband who lives off of my bread-machine bread, and that's easy enough, but 3 ingredients? C'mon! My dog can make this blindfolded. I used a can of coke instead of beer, drizzled a couple tablespoons of butter over the top before baking, and baked at 375 for 50 minutes to get that superb, crunchy crust and soft middle. I also drizzle with a little more melted butter after cooking. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is a great recipe. It came out perfect. Perfectly moist on the inside and a wonderful cruch on the outside. I made it around the holidays and added some nutmeg, cinnamon, and cloves and chopped walnuts and used a fall beer such as Oktoberfest or a Pumpkin Ale. I also made this with a Christmas beer and added nutmeg, cinnamon and cranberries. I've also used Christmas beer and chocolate chips and pecans... The possibilities are endless. Just a classic, simple recipe that anyone can make their own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Still looking for the ultimate beer bread. This isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
not really great. maybe I will try it again. I know dough can be ficky to work with. Not as flavorful as I thought it was going to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Very close to Tastefully Simple recipe. I was having a pregnancy craving and couldn't wait for my order to come in! I took the advice of other's since I did not have self rising flour and added the 1T baking power and 1tsp of salt. Also added a few more spices (21 seasoning solute from Trader Joe's) I felt like it needs more flavor to me. Maybe next time I will go with dark beer and add cheese! I look forward to giving it another go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I used 1/3c. of sugar as suggested by others and melted 2 Tblsps. of butter, brushing over the top half way through baking time. Served with Spinach Dip. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This was my first time baking beer bread and it turned out perfectly! I made self-rising flour based on another reviewer's suggestion (1 c flour, 1 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt) and substituted brown sugar for white sugar. I mixed the dough first with a spoon and then with my hands, and let it sit in the baking pan for a half hour before baking it. I also ran a stick of butter after baking it for 50 minutes and let it bake for an additional 10 minutes. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
As others have stated, they've been making this for years as have I. My only change was to brush the top with butter 10 minutes before the baking process is complete. I do like the other suggestions on letting it stand 30 minutes before baking to lighten it a bit and how to make your own self-rising flour if it does not reside in your pantry (As an aside: I use 1 1/4 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt per cup of all purpose flour used). Thank you Jodi for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States