Beer Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
perfect basic recipe-the only change i feel is crucial is to top it with butter before baking. otherwise this recipe is not only great on it's own, it's perfect to customize. i like to add cheddar cheese, garlic salt, and green chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juniper

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This bread is very tasty. I made mine using wholewheat bread flour. My 1st attempt was a flop as I doubled the recipe to try and make a full size loaf. The bread just wouldn't cook. I baked it for approx 1 1/2hrs before giving up. The taste was very good and the kids really liked the flavour, so I tried it again. This time only making one loaf and allowing it to rise for 1/2hr, adding 2 1/2tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt, I cooked it for 60 min. It was delicious. I'll make it again using my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I used shredded cheese in the batter as suggested and added a nice taste. I mixed some rolled oats with garlic powder. Brushed the top with butter and then added the garlicky oats over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Economy, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I too made it 1/3 cup of sugar and it is spectacular! I have made it several times and it is always perfect. I also make my own self rising flour. If you pour melted butter on top before baking in a 13x9 you get all these beautiful craters that are my favorite part. Keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Very basic and tastes like beer thats what I was looking for in the recipe... i have seen other recipes with herbs and spices that I will also try but this was the basic recipe I was looking for... I took the adivce and made my own self rising flour 1 cup flour to 1 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt... worked well... next time I will also try brushing the top of the loaf with butter... and maybe sprinkling with garlic salt for added flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My husband made this last night and I give it 5 stars. It was pretty good. Not as good as what I have had in the restaurant, but a good basic recipe. I think if you get creative and add some of the ingredients that others have suggested, it would be a good 5 star with cheese, jalapenos, or serrano peppers. I'm not too much for garlic and the such, but it would probably be really good with that with butter on top for garlic lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Easy and delicious!!! I used a wheat berry beer, and it was a little too sweet, so next time I will adjust the sugar accordiningly. (Made for an awesome French toast, though!) Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Just made this tonight. I was trying to recreate Tastefully Simples Beer Bread. And after reading other reviews I increased the sugar to 1/3 cup. However, it just wasn't quite as sweet at TS. Close but no cigar. I will try it again and increase sugar a little more. It's still good, but doesn't taste quite right with TS spinach dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Bergman Renken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I got a box of Tastefully Simple's beer bread mix for Christmas and instantly fell in love with it, but was horrified to find out I'd have to go through a bunch of hooplah just to get another (expensive) box. Well thankfully this recipe was easy to find! It tastes exactly the same and never imagined making good bread would be so easy. I have a spoiled husband who lives off of my bread-machine bread, and that's easy enough, but 3 ingredients? C'mon! My dog can make this blindfolded. I used a can of coke instead of beer, drizzled a couple tablespoons of butter over the top before baking, and baked at 375 for 50 minutes to get that superb, crunchy crust and soft middle. I also drizzle with a little more melted butter after cooking. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is a great recipe. It came out perfect. Perfectly moist on the inside and a wonderful cruch on the outside. I made it around the holidays and added some nutmeg, cinnamon, and cloves and chopped walnuts and used a fall beer such as Oktoberfest or a Pumpkin Ale. I also made this with a Christmas beer and added nutmeg, cinnamon and cranberries. I've also used Christmas beer and chocolate chips and pecans... The possibilities are endless. Just a classic, simple recipe that anyone can make their own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States